Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great base recipe! I added about 2 tsp of granulated garlic and 2 tsp of dried rosemary. Served with broccoli cheese soup, great match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
It's a reasonably simple recipe for very basic bread bowls, but this doesn't even come close to making 8 reasonable bowls. I cut it down to 6, as other reviewers suggested, but even then they felt too small to be useful for a dish like soup. If I try the recipe again I wouldn't make more than 4 bowls out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I was very disappointed. I wanted a nice bowl as depicted in the photo. What I got was a flat piece of uneatable bread. I followed the directions exactly and it was a mess. My yeast was new, the water was 115* the flour was good, everything was ok until the division into separate balls. I'll be looking elsewhere. sorry it was very bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Super easy. Made the dough in my bread machine. Proofed the yeast first in sugar water, added the rest of the ingredients (used bread flour) and started the dough cycle. After my dough was kneaded, I removed it and let it rise in the oven with the light on with a steaming bowl of water on the bottom rack. After first rise I followed the rest of the instructions, but omitted the first egg wash. I spent maybe 15 minutes of time prepping these, not time consuming whatsoever! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this in my bread machine on the dough setting. I added a tbsp of brown sugar also. I took it out of the bread machine and punched it down and put it on a floured surface. I just smoothed it out and divided. I made the balls and let them rise for 40 mins. I only did one egg wash and put in yhe oven for 25 mins with a pan of ice and water below it. I covered them with foil after 15 mins because they the crust was brown already. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
These are wonderful! They are great with Broccoli Cheddar Soup! I could not get 7 cups of flour to mix in evenly, so I ended up only using 6. I gave myself a concussion making them, so take care when kneading the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Langner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gary Kemp
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was a big hit with my family filled with some broccoli cheese soup! I did make to minor changes, I added a 1 tsp of sugar to help activate the yeast and substituted Extra Virgin Olive Oil for the vegetable oil (just a personal preference). Aside from that I followed the instructions exactly and the bowls came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Kemp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deepali Sachin
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Completely in love with this bread bowl, it was perfect and everyone at home enjoyed it. I replaced egg wash with milk wash as we don't eat egg and replaced corn meal with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deepali Sachin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Great Recipe! One Suggestion for those trying this recipe out for the first time however is to hold the Egg White Finish until the bowls have firmed in the Oven, (around 15 minutes in) otherwise its easy to have your proofed dough fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FionixFeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Too die for ! , we just loved them . Crispy on the outside , to hold soup . Great Italian bread flavor . I wish I had the time to make them every week . Thank you, for yet another great recipe! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States