Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
So good with some broccoli cheddar soup! This is an easy recipie to make... not as good as the restaurant ones in the US, but definatly a nice easy way to spice up a borring soup dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I absolutely love this basic recipe & use it all the time! I have made a few changes: I cut the salt to 1 1/2 tsp, add 1 TBS of sugar and every now and then with a pasta dinner I will toss in 1/8Cup parsley flakes & replace the salt with garlic salt, adding 1/2 tsp of Garlic powder & about 3 shakes of grated parm. This recipe makes fantastic, restaurant style mini-table loaves, bread bowls & all sorts of dinner rolls. Fantastic recipe! I use my bread machines dough setting - adding all liquid, then all dry, then the yeast & I simply shape and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I added half a tablespoon of sugar, along with the warm water and yeast. I made six bowls, instead of eight, as other reviewers suggested. I also omitted the first egg wash. My bread bowls came out great, and this was a pretty easy recipe. It makes for a great presentation filled with vegetarian chili. YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These needed a LOT more salt and maybe even some more seasonings. I think I will be adding garlic and fresh rosemary next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
These looked fantastic, but just didn't taste very good. They were bland and unimpressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I use this dough to make pizza crust and french bread-type loaves -- it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
These bread bowls are great, I'll never do store-bought again! Easy to make, easy dough to work with, have turned out great EVERY time, and i've given the recipe away to many dinner guests! I add granulated garlic, or whatever other seasonings I like to the dough to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heathaboo
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
halved the recipe, followed as written and made two regular sized bowls. put a little italian seasoning mixed in and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathaboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I too added just a pinch of sugar. I also added in a bunch of herbs because they're serving my chicken noodle soup. Using 3 c. whole wheat flour and 4 c. AP flour, the rise was incredible! I thought it was going to spill over my kitchenaid bowl. I split into 5 rounds, although 6 would have worked just as well. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great recipe, although I did have to make a few changes! Like other reviewers, I added sugar to proof the yeast, about 1 tsp. I also used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 4 cups of bread flour instead of the 7 cups of all purpose flour. Also the rise time of 40 mins for the first rise just is not enough, you need at least an hour! I let mine rise in a warm oven covered with a damp cloth and a bowl of hot water on the rack below, the steam helped it rise! For the second rise it also needed a bit longer, 45-50 mins instead of 35. Once you have shaped them and place them on the baking tray for the 2nd rise it is important not to move them as this affects the shape! Like other reviewers I did not put the egg wash on before baking, I baked at 400 f for 10mins then brushed, baked for another 10mins brushed again and then baked at 350 f for the last 10 mins. In my egg wash I added garlic salt and italian seasoning it gave it a great flavor! Although these did not taste as great the second day, if you freeze them the same day you bake them and defrost them at room temp, warm in the oven for 5 mins they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States