Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Just started making bread again. Flour water ratio good. I did add sugar as all the recipes I made in the past always used a bit. More kneading time required to get nice firm spring back dough...but you'll need to add bits of flour in if you knead it longer. More rising time needed on first round. Second round was just about right. I have never put egg wash on my bread. Something went wrong. The loaves started to shrink..perhaps the water in the egg was supposed to be hot? Will try again as the process was simple compared to a 3 round rise recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
For the effort it took to make them, the flavor was just alright, even though I added a few Italian seasonings into the dough. Outside shell was too crunchy, but held its shape pretty well. Overall satisfied, they made a nice change to our dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Do not use the towel it stuck to the dough and my bread turned out flat. But other then that the bread is yummy I deffently will cover with something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe. I always end up using less flour than the recipe calls for and double the salt. Blending the flour into the yeast mix before adding the salt will make sure that you don't kill the yeast. Other than that, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I scaled by half then divided that into 3 rather than 4. Baked in tortilla shell pans for a little shape. Brushed with garlic butter instead of egg wash. First try I added some rosemary, second time I added Parisien Bonnes Herbes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
These were great! I used half of the recipe and threw on some yummy seasoning on top of the bowls during their last set it in the oven. They didn't rise as much as I expected (I think my "damp cloth" was too heavy) so next time I might not make it damp at all. I made these on Valentine's Day and cut them out in heart shapes. It was so cute! I made the garden fresh tomato soup recipe with these and it was all delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Love this recipe, made it with beef stew and the kids loved them even my husband which is a picky eater will make them again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina.Veysey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Made the dough in the breadmaker and then let it sit to rise while the soup cooked. I served Butternut Squash soup IV from this site in it and my pickiest eater loved it. He ate all the soup and then devoured the bread too. It's not a very flavorful dough, but I think that's specifically what it's meant to be. That allows the flavors in the soup to shine through and also allows that any soup can be served in it. I may make again for chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
best recipe for bread bowls ever. only thing i do is cut them into 4 so my bowls will be very large...it seems it doesnt matter what i put in the bowls it's the bowls everyone loves! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJameson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Slight personalization (garlic salt instead of regular, oregano sprinkling, olive oil) - 8 perfect round, crusty bowls for a buffalo chicken soup also found at allrecipes! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States