Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Made the dough in the breadmaker and then let it sit to rise while the soup cooked. I served Butternut Squash soup IV from this site in it and my pickiest eater loved it. He ate all the soup and then devoured the bread too. It's not a very flavorful dough, but I think that's specifically what it's meant to be. That allows the flavors in the soup to shine through and also allows that any soup can be served in it. I may make again for chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
best recipe for bread bowls ever. only thing i do is cut them into 4 so my bowls will be very large...it seems it doesnt matter what i put in the bowls it's the bowls everyone loves! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJameson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Slight personalization (garlic salt instead of regular, oregano sprinkling, olive oil) - 8 perfect round, crusty bowls for a buffalo chicken soup also found at allrecipes! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These are just what I was looking for. The dough was very easy to work with also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made these so I could serve "Erins Cheese Broccoli Soup" (on this site) in them.My family loved the bread bowls, I did sprinkle with granulated garlic and dried italian seasoning after I did the first eggwash. Personally I thought that the insideof "bowl" was just a little bit bland, but overall it did the job. I will make these agiain to serve soup/chili in. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made a double batch of this following the directions exactly. As I read through the reviews, I think I know why those that struggled with it falling flat was. Yes mine also fell somewhat flat. The ones that fell flat were no longer warm. They had gotten cold and fell. The others that I had closer to the stove and heat stayed puffed up. So I will make these again but make sure the area is warmer when making them. I did use the oven as one reviewer stated with a pan of hot boiling water on one side of the oven and the other side with the dough, it rose very well that way. Other than that this is a fantastic recipe and will be made more times in the future. I look forward to making a pasta bowl out of it. Oh, and for the second rising in 8 rounds, make sure it is in a warm place as that really helped it to rise well the first time and the second time. I just got to find a place to put it while it waits for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket878

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Photo by gregrickaby
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Using my Kitchen Aid, these were surprisingly easy to make. Turned out great with some homemade chili! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregrickaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I used olive oil and a pinch more salt. It adds more flavor. This was excellent, very easy dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Oliphant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family loves this bread bowl with broccoli cheese soup. I do add a little bit of seasoning to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leighsheila
Home Town: Jamestown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Loved it!!!! Made homemade chilly with it and it turned out GRRRREAT!!!!... The only thing I changed was I added a tablespoon of sugar to proof the yeast, and I did not have the cornmeal, so I did not use it. With these two changes it was still really gooood!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORIETTA M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States