Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
came out fine but needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made these to serve with chicken stew. They were pretty good but quite a lot of work - I'm not sure I'd make them again for this purpose. I made 6 bowls but probably should have made 8 - I found them very large and filling. I added 1.5 tsp garlic powder and 1.5 tsp thyme, and used 3 c ww flour and 4 c flour. I cooked for 30 mins at 400 - maybe should have cooked longer? Tips: Use egg wash over as much of bread as possible (not just tops) to firm up crust. Take off baking pan ASAP onto cooling rack. Internal temp should be at least 200F. Overcooking is probably better than undercooking for this purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty plain but good with soup. I had trouble making them into roundish bowls ... mine were more flat saucers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made the recipe the first time as is except for making 1/2 a recipe since I'm the only that eats soup in my house. The first time the outside wasn't quite as crisp as I wanted so while the oven was cooling I left the rolls in. Really enjoyed these perfect little bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious!! Turned out perfect. I read the other reviews and skipped the first egg wash. I also made larger bowls by splitting the dough into thirds. Perfect with my homemade clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Unbelievably delicious, and exactly better than any paneria. My family and guests raved. I agree with the tablespoon sugar into the yeast mix and also make 7 bowls, not eight. I'm not sure all the cornmeal didn't just drip off with egg-white. Why not stir in the cornmeal into the egg-white mixture?? Baking it to a crusty brown is the way to go and serve with soup while they are still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T, but they flattened when I baked them in the oven. They were hard on the outside and still doughy inside. The egg wash made them brown too quickly and they looked nothing like the picture. I was really disappointed. I guess I'll keep looking for that perfect bread bowl recipe. D:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chococupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Awesome. Just learning how to make bread and these were so easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I have wanted to make these for my wife for some time. I read other reviews and opted to change the recipe slightly to add more flavor. I added honey for a sweetener (1/8-1/4 cup) as well as substituting a garlic salt for the salt in the recipe. After brushing with egg white I also added a light coating of garlic powder and oregano. I was thrilled with the flavor as it did not overpower the soup but complimented it. My wife really liked the flavor of the bread and ate the whole thing. I cut dough into 6 pieces instead of 8. This was fine but if you are adding a side salad you may not want to do this. If you have some really hungry people I could see cutting to 4 bowls. Overall I was very satisfied and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Awesome, awesome. Made creamy basil tomato soup to go with and a potato bacon soup. Takes a lot of time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States