Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Awesome. Just learning how to make bread and these were so easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I have wanted to make these for my wife for some time. I read other reviews and opted to change the recipe slightly to add more flavor. I added honey for a sweetener (1/8-1/4 cup) as well as substituting a garlic salt for the salt in the recipe. After brushing with egg white I also added a light coating of garlic powder and oregano. I was thrilled with the flavor as it did not overpower the soup but complimented it. My wife really liked the flavor of the bread and ate the whole thing. I cut dough into 6 pieces instead of 8. This was fine but if you are adding a side salad you may not want to do this. If you have some really hungry people I could see cutting to 4 bowls. Overall I was very satisfied and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Awesome, awesome. Made creamy basil tomato soup to go with and a potato bacon soup. Takes a lot of time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Worked well. These were easy to make with a little time. I did divide them into four bowls instead of eight. Eight would have been too small of a bowl. Also if you want a crusty out side use the egg wash if not don't use egg was and rub butter on tops after removing from oven, they will be soft. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and make 2 larger bowls for my hot spinach artichoke dip! The bread is nice and dense and holds up well to this! I usually use quick rise yeast and I can bake the bread in the time I am preparing my dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roonie70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made the recipe pretty much just as it was written. It turned out fantastic! The only change I made was instead of 8 bowls, I made 6 (which increased the baking time a little bit). Overall, this made them the perfect dinner size. The bread itself is a little flat-tasting, it could use about 1 tsp more salt (for a total of 1 Tbsp). But with the soup inside, it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
good flavor but did not rise into a nice round bowl shape for me! Will try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
We made these tonight and loved them. The bread is very simple in flavor which let our soup really shine through. When the loaves first came out of the oven I was concerned because they seemed small. Once I finished one full of soup I decided that the size was actually just right. We filled ours with a hearty broccoli cheddar soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I read the reviews for this recipe before making it, unfortunately, and followed the advice to make six bowls instead of eight. Yeah, um, no. Stick to eight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
great recipe. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States