Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I prefer a crispy crust versus the chewy crust that this recipe produces, but that can be easily remedied. Perfect with broccoli cheese soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These were not ideal for bread bowls. I changed nothing in the directions but still ended up with sorta flat bowls. Also the recipe states it makes 4 but really it makes only 3 mid sized bowls, which held about 1 1/2 cups stew. Thanks for the idea but I doubt I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypinktulips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were amazing!!!!!!They are easy to make- I followed other reviews and made 6 instead of 8 and that is perfect. Topped mine with some flax seeds and kosher salt I will be making these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon Bluestein
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
super yummy! I used this recipe for the Chunky Potato soup recipe and it turned out perfect! I added about 1 tbs of dried basil and 4 roughly cut cloves of garlic to jazz it up a bit just because we love garlic! This recipe was very easy and turned out very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Bluestein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Mine were crisp on the outside and perfectly fluffly inside. We dipped into our soup the bread that scooped out from the middle. I will definitely make this again and again. Next time will follow others' suggestions and will make 6 instead of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was my first time baking bread with yeast and it turned out much better than expected! I served them with cream of crab soup and it worked very well. I only made 4 bowls and they were a little too big, I would make more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except that like other reviewers I made 6 bowls instead of 8. I didn't need to increase baking time. They were perfect after 30 min (I have an oven thermometer, so the temp of my oven was accurate). I also skipped the first egg wash per another reviewer to prevent them from flattening and they turned out great. Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALHAAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Amazing recipe, easy to do with a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I wasn't overjoyed with how this recipe turned out. I thought the flavor was pretty ho-hum, and they leaked a lot. Maybe they would have worked better with a cream soup - I made chicken noodle. However, my husband and another guy who was eating dinner with us that night both said they liked the bowls. I just thought the taste was lacking, compared to how delicious homemade bread usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very Delicious but next time I will only make 4 bowls instead of eight or double it for eight bowls. The bowls were too small for my family. Also I sprinkled italian seasoning on top before baking and they were delicious!!!!! And the Cheesiest Potato Soup was perfect for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyann1886

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waymart, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States