Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Great Italian bread / soupbowl recipe! We used the bowls as soup bowls, cut up as a dipper for spicy baked beans and tonight we are making garlic bread. Yummm! I look forward to making these again real soon!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I prefer a crispy crust versus the chewy crust that this recipe produces, but that can be easily remedied. Perfect with broccoli cheese soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These were not ideal for bread bowls. I changed nothing in the directions but still ended up with sorta flat bowls. Also the recipe states it makes 4 but really it makes only 3 mid sized bowls, which held about 1 1/2 cups stew. Thanks for the idea but I doubt I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypinktulips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were amazing!!!!!!They are easy to make- I followed other reviews and made 6 instead of 8 and that is perfect. Topped mine with some flax seeds and kosher salt I will be making these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon Bluestein
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
super yummy! I used this recipe for the Chunky Potato soup recipe and it turned out perfect! I added about 1 tbs of dried basil and 4 roughly cut cloves of garlic to jazz it up a bit just because we love garlic! This recipe was very easy and turned out very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Bluestein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Mine were crisp on the outside and perfectly fluffly inside. We dipped into our soup the bread that scooped out from the middle. I will definitely make this again and again. Next time will follow others' suggestions and will make 6 instead of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was my first time baking bread with yeast and it turned out much better than expected! I served them with cream of crab soup and it worked very well. I only made 4 bowls and they were a little too big, I would make more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except that like other reviewers I made 6 bowls instead of 8. I didn't need to increase baking time. They were perfect after 30 min (I have an oven thermometer, so the temp of my oven was accurate). I also skipped the first egg wash per another reviewer to prevent them from flattening and they turned out great. Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALHAAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Amazing recipe, easy to do with a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I wasn't overjoyed with how this recipe turned out. I thought the flavor was pretty ho-hum, and they leaked a lot. Maybe they would have worked better with a cream soup - I made chicken noodle. However, my husband and another guy who was eating dinner with us that night both said they liked the bowls. I just thought the taste was lacking, compared to how delicious homemade bread usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States