Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These were ok, but I don't think I would make them again. Just not the good rustic bread taste I was hoping for. They're alright for a basic bread bowl, but I'll keep searching for the right one for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These turned out wonderful! My husband and kids were skeptical at first but now they are begging me to make these again! I served Cream of broccoli & cheese soup in these and the bread is such an amazing compliment to the soup! I am trying them tonight with beef stew!These were very easy to make and I'm not sure about the previous comments about "molding the dough to bowl shape" but they turned out great as traditional bread bowls for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Cut the recipe in half for two people, and then made two big bread bowls. Baked them at 400 for 15 minutes then 350 for 10 minutes, and they were perfect. I did add 1/2 tablespoon of garlic and 1/2 tablespoon of oregano to the dough, and it punched up the flavor quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My husband LOVED this bread bowl. I make bread frequently and he still thought it was bakery bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Beautiful recipe...I mixed exactly to the orginal and they did not flatten out at all; they were just yummy bowls of goodness! I did add a teaspoon of sugar to proof the yeast, but aside from that...I wouldn't change a thing. Very delish with homemade chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My first attempt at bread bowls, and these were so easy! Filled with cheesy potato and ham soup, and invited the in-laws over. Big hit! Recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Allan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I halved this recipe so I'd get 4 bread bowls, and it halves exceedingly well. these bread bowls are extremely easy and simple. Not sure why people are having a hard time with this recipe--just make into very round rolls and it will bake up in large bread bowls. So large, actually, that I wasn't able to finish mine. We had these with Chicken and Corn Chili and they were excellent. yes, they are bland but they are bread bowls--meant to be eaten with soup, so you want a bland bread to soak up the flavor of the soup you choose. If you still want a flavorful bread bowl, add garlic adn other seasoning. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I followed some other reviews and made 6 bread bowls. They came out so pretty. Added oregano and garlic salt to the top of each to make them pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe. Simple and easy. I followed the advice of several here and skipped the first egg wash. I also only used 2 cups of flour after the initial 4 instead of 3 (total of 6 instead of 7). If you are in Salt Lake City or a similar elevation/climate, I recommend only using the initial 4, then 2 more while kneading in your mixer. The recipe also says to knead by hand after the flour is all in, but I just let it go in my Bosch for 5 minutes like I do with other white breads. They turned out GREAT! Just a side note, you could probably get away with doing 8, but I did six. They are very big bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bateperson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States