Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These bread bowls looked so appetizing, making a simple creamed soup look very appealing. The texture of the bread was perfect, holding up wonderfully to the soup. This is a great way to make a simple soup look exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I only made a few MINOR changes....I split the recipe in half since it's just my husband and me. I also added a tsp of garlic powder to the dough and then topped the bread bowls with some butter and minced garlic instead of the egg white. We really enjoyed eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I could not have been happier with these bread bowls! I do agree that the size would be a little nicer if I would've made 4-6 instead of the 8. I will definetly use this recipe again! I think my next go will be for Christmas with cheesey broccoli soup and baked potatoe soup. This was my 1st attemp ever and I was VERY happy! Thank you for the excellent recipe and the AWESOME instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great recipe! Made these to serve up some Cindy's awesome clam chowder (also from this site). The bread came out nice and fluffy inside, yet crunchy on the outside. Excellent, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I've made these many times and they are simply DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
People who complained about these not getting big enough might look to the instructions. Basic bread making gives 1 hour to do the first rise and 1 hour for the second rise. The rising times are too short in this recipe but respect basic bread rising times and you should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
So great! I followed other's wisdom and used garlic salt and oregano when brushing the bread. SO good! I do wish I'd stuck with the 8 bowls, putting it to 6 made them too big for us. But other than that, I will definitely be repeating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
These were very good! I made six bowls so that they were a little bigger. I found that it worked better to make the dough into balls, instead of trying to make a "bowl" shape with a flat bottom. I actually made two batches, and the "ball" shape turned out better. As they rise, and then bake, they tend to flatten out a bit anyway. If you make them too flat before rising, you get flat bread not really suitable for a bowl (but good for eating anyway). The taste of these was very good combined with the soup (I made broccoli cheese soup to go with it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
These tasted fabulous! I made a creamy chicken soup to go in them, and the bread bowls made the meal! Mine came out too flat, my husband called them bread plates, but it still worked. I need to figure out how to make them stay round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very easy recipe, even for people without a logic experience making bread. I agree with the reviewer who said that this only makes 6 bowls - if I had made 8, they would have been tiny. I mixed garlic powder with the egg wash. Otherwise, they would have been very bland, even filled with soup. I made minestrone soup to go in the bowls, and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States