Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Loved these- I made these earlier in the week and froze them for Sunday. They may have been a tad on the small side but not bad at all. I made them as stated:)I made 2 dif recipes and these were the winner:) Just be sure to put them far enough apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by efuagwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fall weather has arrived in Cleveland, and these bread bowls are perfect for a hearty soup or chili. I placed the ingredients in my bread machine to make the dough, then baked in the oven. The bread bowls were crusty on the outside and chewy on the inside, exactly what I was hoping for. The only change I made was to add onion powder to the top before baking, and I think I'll add some to the dough next time as well for extra flavor. And I made the bowls smaller than called for as the ham and potato soup I served with them was very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
They turned out perfect. I added 2 tablespoons of sugar to proof the yeast faster and used bread flour. I ended up only using about 5.5 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
These were fantastic! Very easy and perfect to serve our fish chowder in after a blustery day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBOOKOUT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made this into two large bread bowls for dips I planned to fill them with. I did sub a cup of whole wheat for the white, and added 1 tablespoon of wheat gluten to ensure the dough rises well. I sprayed oil and sprinkled cornmeal into two 8" round pans, and then let the two large dough balls do their final rise in these to prevent them from spreading too much and flattening out. Skipped the first egg wash. Baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Turned out very nice; the round loaves were each 4" high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
These turned out beautifully! For a real treat, fill with the Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup from this site!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
The best way to eat any soup... incredible... bread bowls are really good but oh so filling... I don't know how anyone could eat these... if they make 6 out of this recipe.. althouh they might be a better size for a bowl... there is no way to eat it all... my dough was a little soft... I think if I added a little more flour they may hold there shape better... it would also be nice if there was some form for the bowls to rise in to keep them from spread... but other wise these worked very well... excellent way to serve any soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Worked well for me, but was hard to shaped as they flattened as they were rising. Served with stew and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magob
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
following the recipe as is, the bread is very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Wonderful. This was my first attempt at bread. I usually make cakes. I really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to follow. I did add sugar to the yeast, used bread flour instead of all purpose, and olive oil as per other reviewer suggestions. I did the Alton Brown method for rising dough and it worked perfectly. I didn't have a problem with the bread flattening out. I did egg wash as directed and they came out beautiful. Served with Chicken Broccoli Cheese Soup. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States