Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I too added just a pinch of sugar. I also added in a bunch of herbs because they're serving my chicken noodle soup. Using 3 c. whole wheat flour and 4 c. AP flour, the rise was incredible! I thought it was going to spill over my kitchenaid bowl. I split into 5 rounds, although 6 would have worked just as well. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great recipe, although I did have to make a few changes! Like other reviewers, I added sugar to proof the yeast, about 1 tsp. I also used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 4 cups of bread flour instead of the 7 cups of all purpose flour. Also the rise time of 40 mins for the first rise just is not enough, you need at least an hour! I let mine rise in a warm oven covered with a damp cloth and a bowl of hot water on the rack below, the steam helped it rise! For the second rise it also needed a bit longer, 45-50 mins instead of 35. Once you have shaped them and place them on the baking tray for the 2nd rise it is important not to move them as this affects the shape! Like other reviewers I did not put the egg wash on before baking, I baked at 400 f for 10mins then brushed, baked for another 10mins brushed again and then baked at 350 f for the last 10 mins. In my egg wash I added garlic salt and italian seasoning it gave it a great flavor! Although these did not taste as great the second day, if you freeze them the same day you bake them and defrost them at room temp, warm in the oven for 5 mins they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissy
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Excellent! Easy recipe to follow and everyone loves them. I bumped up the servings to 12 and it made 8 good sized bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I made the standard 8 bowls (they each hold a serving but the bowls are sturdy enough that we just ate the top and middle with the first fill and then refilled the bowl with more soup :) We used four of the bowls and I individually wrapped and froze the other four. We've been thawing those out and slicing up for bread with dinner, which makes enough for the four of us with each "bowl". I also added Italian Seasoning and onion flakes to the dough before baking and they go perfectly with savory dishes. Will definately be putting this at the top of the recipe pile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I halved the recipe and used a whole egg to glaze the bread. Form the loaves into balls for the second rise. Bake ten minutes, do the first glaze, bake another ten minutes, do the second glaze, then bake the last ten minutes. Glazing before baking causes your bread to collapse. This recipe was quite good, if you dunk all the bread in soup. I had it with a delicious broccoli-cheddar soup. I was able to scrape the bowls into pretty thin shells without any leaking. But still serve these on some sort of plate, just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Didn't have a great taste and although they were round before the 2nd rise, they fell a bit flat. still workable, but not sure how great these are as bread bowls for soup. Maybe the salad would have stayed in. I usually buy bread bowls from the bakery for french onion soup, add soup, melt cheese over the opening...yummy. With these I added soup, then more soup, then noticed that before I could even add the cheese the soup was pouring out of the bread at a good drip. A bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My bowls turned out very hard and dense. They held the soup, looked nice, but weren't great to eat. User error? Maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Man oh man these are great! I ate one with butter hot out of the oven. If your having soup and salad, dividing these into 8 pieces works. If your just going to eat soup, I'd suggest dividing it into just 6. Very very tasty, crunchy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Easy to make and great with the creamy soups. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cpeyree
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe and everyone loved it also. But I will have too make 2 batches next time because even after I formed it into 6 balls they were still too small. Other than that It was a great recipe and I will use this all year round all the time!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpeyree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States