Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Awesome! I added raisins and currants for a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I'm sorry but we didn't like this bread. I made it exactly as written and it was somewhere between a dense cake and a dense bread, but not very good either way. Maybe it would be good with nuts and dried fruit like craisins, but with a bit more sugar in the batter? Again, I'm sorry for the 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Great recipe. It may not be traditional but it is so much better than any other soda bread I've tasted. Sifted dry ingredients. Mixed dry ingredients and wet only to the point where some dry was still visible. Let batter rest 30 minutes before baking. Mixed some melted butter with buttermilk and brushed top before baking and halfway through. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I didn't change a thing except I let batter sit in pan for 30 minutes as another reviewer suggested. This bread is soft and moist and has good flavor. I've never had Irish soda bread so I don't know if this recipe really mimics what Irish soda bread is supposed to be like. It doesn't really matter to me- the bread is great and I'm making it again in a couple days to share at a soup, salad, and bread dinner at my church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Looks really good and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This recipe makes a light and comforting cake like loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I've tried several Soda Bread recipes and this one is by far my favorite. I always follow the advice of the reviewer who suggests to let the bread sit at room temp for 30 minutes before baking. My loaves are always light (for Soda Bread, of course) with a beautiful crust and crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Wonderful!! Super easy, I halved the recipe and baked it in a standard muffin tin, it made 12 and the baking time was 18 min. A different, easy and tasty bread for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
a new staple in our house, this bread is good enough alone, much less with a little bit of butter and a stew... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkp4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I took the advice Apaeth and left the bread at room temp for about 40 minutes before putting it in the oven. The bread baked perfectly. It turned out light, fluffy and moist unlike other Irish soda breads I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States