Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
My first time making Irish soda bread, this is a very good recipe. I made a couple of alterations, currants in place of raisins (we are not fans of raisins) and added lemon zest (had some on hand.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I usually follow a different recipe for Irish Soda Bread, but decided to try this one since it was in the Feb/Mar '15 AR magazine. I was unsure how I'd like it since egg is not traditionally in Irish soda bread. Maybe it's because I live at a slight elevation (~3400') and the egg helped it not get as dry and crumbly as the other recipe, but the texture of this was FABULOUS! Of course, I added a heaping cup of currants as well as some caraway seeds. Delish smeared with Kerrygold Irish butter. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was my first crack at Irish soda bread and I chose the right recipe. It was easy and turned out better than I expected. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLegnetto
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Omg!!! This recipe so fast and so easy, a trained monkey.....or my wife could even do it!! Lol. The hardest part was finding buttermilk on St. Patrick's eve! This bread was amazing, I've never made an Irish soda bread that tasted this good, Thankyou!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Didn't change anything. It turned out great, very good. Definitely making again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This recipe is AMAZING. The texture is great, the flavor is great, not too sweet or bland. scewbysnks, I really don't think it needs raisins. (even if I don't like them) Excellent slightly warmed with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Wonderful, 1st time I ever made bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Wow! This was fantastic. All I did was decrease the sugar EVER so slightly so it had just a hint of sweetness. Read a tip that proved quite good. After putting the batter into the pan, let it sit for 30 min. before placing in the oven to allow the chemical reactions to occur. Wrap in foil as directed. Moist, flavorful and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
It is my 3rd time making this quick bread. Very easy to make and tasty. I added about 1/2 cup of golden raisins to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This was incredibly delicious! It smelled wonderful while it was cooking and tasted so good. I used kefir instead of buttermilk and accidently added a little too much butter. I also used wheat flour instead of white flour. It was very crumbly, but very moist. We unanimously voted to replace this recipe with our other Irish bread recipe that we have been using for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 827) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States