Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! Made it just as written-- not too bland and not too sweet. Dense without being heavy-delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I will start by saying that I made both this recipe and the Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread recipe. Both highly rated and both lived up the hype. I did add raisins to both as it seemed traditionally correct, having said that I'm no expert on Irish Soda Bread tradition. I followed the recipes as listed with one exception. I baked on a tad bit lower heat and baked for a tad bit longer. Not sure what some posters meant when they said it didn't turn out good. I'm no baker, but these 2 recipes have to be as easy as it gets. Gave them both 4 stars as they both came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is awful! It tastes like pancakes baked in a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
i was so happy to find a recipe that did not add raisins! most soda bread recipes are much more sweet than traditional irish soda bread - i have reduced the sugar in this recipe but its just as good with the 1/3 cup. this goes together quickly, and you can substitute 2 tbsp. lemon juice and enough milk to make 2 cups for the buttermilk if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
So yummy. I made this for an Irish Soda Bread day at work, and people devoured it. It's like a treat you'd get at a find and breakfast. Even better with golden raisins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious! I added a cup of raisins that I soaked in the buttermilk for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I don't care what you call it; we love this recipe. Since my DH doesn't like sweet things, I just cut the sugar in half. I don't like raisins which makes it perfect for me. Love the texture and ease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
It was really nice! It's kind of like a giant biscuit. Would be nice with raisins in it. We served it with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My family loved it! Next time I will try adding raisins, since others have said it would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States