Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have no idea if this bread is authentic or not, but the taste fit perfectly with the corned beef and cabbage meal. Didn't even need butter. I made as directed -- the evening before -- and wrapped in aluminum foil overnight. I can't speak to recommendations that it needs raisins because I hate raisins in bread -- Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Perfect recipe as is! This was a perfect accent to our slow cooker corn beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Vecchio Irwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A hit with our corned-beef and cabbage dinner! Easy to make; I confused two recipes and turned this out on to a floured surface, kneaded some more flour in and shaped it in to a rough, country-bread style loaf. It was fantastic this way. (Though if you try it, don't expect it to knead well, it's very loose as dough, almost batter-like. Just use additional flour - enough so it doesn't stick to everything, and mold with your hands.) I baked it on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! Made it just as written-- not too bland and not too sweet. Dense without being heavy-delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I will start by saying that I made both this recipe and the Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread recipe. Both highly rated and both lived up the hype. I did add raisins to both as it seemed traditionally correct, having said that I'm no expert on Irish Soda Bread tradition. I followed the recipes as listed with one exception. I baked on a tad bit lower heat and baked for a tad bit longer. Not sure what some posters meant when they said it didn't turn out good. I'm no baker, but these 2 recipes have to be as easy as it gets. Gave them both 4 stars as they both came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is awful! It tastes like pancakes baked in a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
i was so happy to find a recipe that did not add raisins! most soda bread recipes are much more sweet than traditional irish soda bread - i have reduced the sugar in this recipe but its just as good with the 1/3 cup. this goes together quickly, and you can substitute 2 tbsp. lemon juice and enough milk to make 2 cups for the buttermilk if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
So yummy. I made this for an Irish Soda Bread day at work, and people devoured it. It's like a treat you'd get at a find and breakfast. Even better with golden raisins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious! I added a cup of raisins that I soaked in the buttermilk for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States