Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
YUMMY RECIPE!!! My entire family approved (from the hubby, to the pre-teen, to the elementary kid, to the toddler!) I made this recipe as-is except for one thing. I didn't have any buttermilk. Normally, I would simply make my own (mix in 2 tablespoons to 2 cups of milk and let it sit for a few minutes until it begins to sour). This time, however, I had sour cream. I'd read that you can replace buttermilk with 3 parts yogurt and 1 part milk. So I used sour cream instead of the yogurt. Basically, I used 1-1/2 cups sour cream and 1/2 cup milk. The bread baked with the creamiest texture I've had from a bread in a long time. It was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
It was so easy and so delicious. This is going to become a regular part of our dinners. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I added 2 tsp. of lemon juice to my almond milk. Worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
A moist, different twist on soda bread. I think the key is making the bread a day ahead as the submitter suggests. We liked this one as it didn't contain raisins. It paired nicely with 'Braised Corned Beef Brisket' 'Cream Cheese Colcannon' and 'Buttermilk Coleslaw' all AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
There are no words.... Just absolutely delicious bread. It's torture if you don't eat carbs! I think it is just sweet and moist enough that you could use it for strawberry shortcake. Also, I wrap it in foil and eat it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Not sure if you should not call this Volcano Bread instead of Irish Soda Bread. It really overflowed my bread pan. So I highly suggest a cookie sheet below the pan. Other than that, it tastes quite good and it appears that the recipe can be easily modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I thought the dough was a little wet and had to add more flour. I ended up putting the dough in muffin tins and made rolls. You can not mess this recipe up! I FORGOT about the rolls in the oven, and they were in the oven for who knows how long. They were still perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is the first Irish SodaBread I've ever had that has any flavor. It was a big hit with my book club and my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook Qualman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I've made this several times with great results. The last time I decided to add in some leftover cheeses from a party. I crumbled white chocolate raspberry cheese, merlot cheese and blueberry goat cheese. It probably totaled 6-8 ounces for a double batch. Fabulous!. Now I will find other leftovers to add in to make unique creations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Erlacher
Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Slightly too sweet. Cut sugar back to 1/4 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The texture was dense but still crumbly. I was hoping for a softer bread. It was better for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 827) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States