Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was just not what I was looking for. It comes out VERY cakey, almost a cornbread texture, not really bready at all. It was very easy to make though. Thank you anyway for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glowiie
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Tastes a lot like a biscuit! I followed the directions exactly, and it's a pretty tasty bread, though I wasn't expecting it to be so biscuit-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This recipe is SO EASY!!! I make it year round. Turns out great every time. Great for beginning bread makers and experts alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
THIS IS NOT THE TRADITIONAL IRISH SODA BREAD (WHERE YOU SHAPE IT YOURSELF - NO PAN) BUT ITS DELICIOUS. I USED DRIED CRANBERRIES INSTEAD OF RAISINS (1 1/2 CUP) FOR CHRISTMAS AND ALSO SOME ORANGE RIND FOR COLOR AND FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Brandes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
IRISH soda bread DOES NOT have raisins. Brack, scones or other sweet cakes/breads do, but plain old (white or brown) soda bread does NOT. Stop messing with her recipe, it's absolutely perfect. One tip to keep from over-kneading is that when the dough feels like your earlobe, it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This makes a nice looking loaf with a crisp crust and absolutely NO FLAVOR. The texture is all wrong. It is more like a chewy cake-bread than the dry, dense and crusty round loaf that is traditional Irish soda bread. Toasting it doesn't even make it better. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Great recipe, we serve it with our Irish Stew on St. Patrick's Day. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I added 1 Tbsp of caraway seeds and 1 1/2 cuo of plumped raisins to the dry ingredients before combining with the wet ingredients. This addition made this Irish Soda Bread perfect for breakfast. I've tried other recipes for irish Soda Bread but none of them have been as moist as this one. My husband approved and he is a tough critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I really liked this bread. Its simple and great as French toast. I made it one morning because I did not want to go out in the cold to get bread. Easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Serna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maddox83
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
As a dude who can't it turned out to be a hit. I didn't even have baking soda so I use 4 times the amount of baking powder and still was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 824) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States