Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Slightly too sweet. Cut sugar back to 1/4 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The texture was dense but still crumbly. I was hoping for a softer bread. It was better for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I tried this bread for st Patricks day it came out great Toasted nicely day two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My husband and I are totally addicted to this bread. Have made it twice already and will put in another loaf tonight. Followed the recipe exactly but added lots of raisins. Wrapped the bread overnight and each day after it became better and better! Easy and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Second time making Soda Bread, this is the recipe to use, also add golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I have tried Irish Soda Bread recipes where you have to knead and shape the loaf and this is much easier.. However, I added some caraway seeds and raisins to make it more traditional. I worried about having the raisins sink in the bread but that wasn't a problem. I didn't measure the amount just added a handful. This is a very moist bread, not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious :p best ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I have never had Irish soda bread before so I really have nothing to compare it to however I really didn't like it. It was a little on the sweet side and tasted a lot like a pancake with a bad texture. I really didn't like the lack of flavor. I made it for a St. Patricks day party and not one finished their slice of bread. I do have to admit it was a very moist bread and that was good. The texture is a bit unsettleing and it is way too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I have never mastered the skill of baking homemade bread, but as this one did not have to be kneaded and rolled out.....just pour in the pan kind of deal......I decided to give it a try. And boy was it good! LOL! It looked just like the picture. And I have never had soda bread before ......I thought it tasted like cornbread....is it suppose to? I served it with chili. And I heated up a slice the next day and ate it even without butter....a good snack.I'll definitely be making this sweet soda bread again. Maybe with raisins the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Have made yeast bread & buns for many years, but never anything as easy as this! Very soft & light.Paired it up with Chef John's beef stew yesterday for dinner. Went great together. Will certainly make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States