Irish Potato Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
The way I made it, which may or may not have been accurate, since I am very inexperienced in the kitchen, it can out nice and doughy and browned on the outside, but the inside was more of the texture of a regular old potato. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I really liked these, my family however did not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Great old Irish recipes it brings me back to my youth when all things were simple and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I make these, but never used a recipe; a friend showed me how to make them 18 years ago when we first moved to Ireland. They are bland, they are intended as a food carrier, not as a food by themselves and are usually eaten with breakfast or another meal. In Northern Ireland they are sometimes deep fried after cooking as part of the "Ulster Fry" they are good that way too, but I prefer just the griddle version. To reheat just place under a grill, in a toaster/toaster oven or use the griddle again. You can also stick between two damp paper towels in the microwave for about 20 seconds but any longer may make the tough. They are very good with canned beans also with jam, honey, melted cheese or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodi Grundy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Great recipe! I dont think fardel comes from either scots or irish gaelic though - more like the old english word for fourth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I grew up in Ulster eating potato bread and bacon (mostly!) and these are pretty authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As another reviewer wrote, I always add buttermilk. My son loves them both warm off the griddle or then fried in the bacon grease when we're having an Ulster Fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect tatty bread. Those having problems with the dough havnt dried off their spuds first, it's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irish kim
Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
These taste delicious but, and this could be because I used cold leftover mashed potatoes, they didnt hold together like a biscuit. They were like I plopped some mashed potatoes in a skillet and fried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I make mine a little differently. I use left over mashed potatoes, add a little baking power and then start adding flour until it has the consistency of pie dough. After rolling it out, I fry it in margarine until brown on both sides. When they are done I put some butter on top. I usually make a lot so I freeze the extra, uncooked potato bread on cookie sheets and then put them in zip lock bags to cook later. So very bad for you, but so, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States