Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Excellent base recipe, although I do tweak it a bit. Definitely make this a day ahead, it gives the flavors a chance to marry. Slow cookers are excellent for this recipe. Since I am such a keener, i keep rendered bacon fat on hand at all times. Instead of all the bacon called for in the recipe, I use a little bacon fat combined with olive oil. I use half the meat called for, half lamb and half nice stewing beef, then I add double the veg..brown the meat, I add leeks, garlic&celery to onions, i also add parsnips instead of sugar for a nice sweetness. Deglaze with a bit of broth... I also add Guinness instead of wine, top off with water, and a jigger of whiskey near the end of cooking for flavour..don't be afraid to make this recipe your own, and i serve with colcannon and soda bread for an authentic St. Patty's Day feast! Slainte! And this makes a great pot-pie with the leftovers..also freezes pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Amazing! Transferred it into a slow cooker and added veggies later. We had dinner guests and, while the slow cooker was filled to the brim with more than enough for everyone, it was nearly licked clean. Oh, and I substituted the beef stew meat we had on hand. I may swap the wine for dark beer this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Fabulous! Taste is perfect! Like others, I had to increase time of carrots to cook for 45 minutes, and add potatoes later so they cook about 30 minutes total. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Tried this yummy stew recipe today! The video was helpful, in addition to the instructions. This is one of the best lamb stews I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is outrageously delicious! I used red wine instead of white and I omitted the sugar. Also, because it was so soupy, I made a faux roux with some flour and a little of the broth (no butter) to thicken things up, and that worked very well. I should also mention that I slow cooked the lamb first and then crisped it up in a dry skillet (that helped me to cut back a little on the crazy amount of fat in the recipe). I used about one pound of bacon when I doubled the recipe. I will definitely make this one again and again. Thanks so much, Danny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was a hit! I never would have imagined. It was a little labor-intensive (and expensive with lamb $7/lb), but worth it. I followed the recipe exactly, except I forgot the wine! I also added one parsnip. I didn't even miss the wine; in fact it might have made the gravy a little watery. Served it with Irish soda bread as suggested and the whole pot was devoured at the party where I brought it. I'll definitely keep the recipe, but due to the expense, I won't serve it too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
YUMMMY, I did half the recipe but kept the beef stock to 4 cups and substituted a bottle of Guinness for the wine and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
AMAZING ! This is one of my favorite recipes I got from this site. One observation, this stew will thicken substantially after the first day, so you might want to increase the liquid ( or reduce the meat and veggies )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this for St Patrick's Day when we had some friends over. They all loved it. I did have to use pork instead of lamb just because I couldn't get any lamb where I live but it still turned out great. I hope I can try it agian with the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Price, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Yummy!! Very tasty, made half the recipe ( but used the same amount of potatoes) It's just perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States