Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
O...M...G!!! Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of lamb, but this is really good. I followed TRACYCOOK's slow cooker method and it was great! I also cut the recipe in half for our family of four. I did sear the lamb and cook the bacon beforehand as well. Meat just doesn't ever taste as flavorful when I throw it in the crockpot raw, no matter HOW long it cooks. Next time I'll add the carrots and potatoes in later, maybe around hour 6. They're just too mushy, and since I used purple potatoes, the color came right out of them, which means all those good antioxidants were sucked out from overcooking. Also added flour at the end, stirred in and cooked on high for about 30 minutes for it to thicken and it made a big difference. Looking forward to grabbing some bread for bread bowls and having this for dinner tonight. Overall a good recipe to have on-hand when we get all that lamb from our CSA meat share! May add Guinness next time instead of white wine as well. Mmmmm beer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Turned out to be delicious. Bought cubed lamb for stew which needed to be coked long and low for approx 3 hrs before tender. Added veggies an cooked another 45 minutes. So took considerably longer than times noted in recipe. But this is a keeper. Great depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
ok, so i tried to follow recipe but didnt understand why only 5 cups of liquid...so i used 48oz of 100% all natural beef broth and 3 cups of water and 2 cups of wine...i added all the ingredients together after browning the lamb instead of waiting and added an hour to the simmer time to soften the meat a bit more and organic flour to thicken it a bit... its the first time ive made this but i really like the way it turned out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I've made this several times and it has been a total hit every time. I'm making it today for Canadian Thanksgiving. I meant to try it with Guinness this year, but forgot, so we're having to make do with red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Hayden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was pretty good. I used an emulsion blender to thicken it up a bit-- just put the blender stick in the pot and puree about a quarter or half of the soup to make it more "stewy". Lamb was nice and tender and it had a good flavor. It was definitely better as leftovers, so if you have time to make it ahead of time, I'd recommend that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I added mushrooms and celery as well as a small amount of fresh rosemary from the garden. Turned out fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was the best stew I have ever had. Beautiful! I had to modify it for cooking in the crock pot but kept the ingredients pretty much the same, although modified for 6 servings instead of 10. I fried up the bacon and browned the lamb before putting it in the crockpot. Half an hour before serving I could see it needed thickening up I removed two cups of the liquid and melted 60 grams of butter, added 1/4 cup of flour and cooked for a minute before slowly adding the two cups of liquid. Once this was smooth I added it back into the stew and it worked a treat. This was a seriously delicious meal that will be added to the family recipe book. I did put some leftover in the fridge to see if it really does get better with age (hard to believe!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Good recipe, but I felt that something was missing . Needs a spice if some sorts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was great. Borrowed some hints from others and other recipes. Added the veges 1 hour before it was supposed to be done. Also thickened toward the end and added fresh chopped parsley. Thanks will make it again...goodbye corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States