Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Used stout instead of wine ,veg stock rather then beef stock -and added extra carrots and potatoes as I am not a big onion fan . This was by far the best stew I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I would change a lot of things here. I don't cook with sugar, and that sweet taste in the stew is unbearable for me. It tastes more sweet than salty. I was horrified by the bacon fat. I would definetely make this again, but I will not add the sugar, I will use olive oil instead of bacon fat, I will remove the bacon all together, and use less flour if not any. I guess it will no longer be an Irish stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Truly a labour or love. So worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great stew made exactly as advised
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My husband made this and it was terrific. He did include some substitutions. He used red wine, red pearl onions, lardons (pancetta) instead of bacon and added parsnips and peas. The rest was the same and it was very nicely seasoned. Didn't add anything after I tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was a great recipe. I only had a few pounds of lamb, but with the help of allrecipes I was able to modify. Proportionately it was the same recipe. I would've given it 5 stars, but I did make a slight change and that was to substitute the wine with diluted white vinegar. Also, I made the mistake of pouring garlic/onion mixture and the liquid into the stew. Hindsight is 20/20 but wished the recipe said to leave liquid behind. After refrigeration I skimmed off the fat and all was fine. Like a few others mentioned about the potatoes and what form they should be in going into the stew (diced, bite-sized, quartered, etc), I made them bite-sized to go along with the rest of the recipe. Awesome recipe and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Clouter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
great stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My husband is now dreaming about this dish! It is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved this and will make it again. I had leftover leg of lamb and made it in my dutch oven. I followed the recipe, except added the carrots after the broth and meats have been simmering for about 30 minutes. I also drained most of the bacon grease off. I also didn't have any wine, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love Love Love this recipe! It was the best lamb stew ever!! I followed the directions exactly expect I switch out the white wine for apple juice. Prep time is longer than 20 minutes and so worth the little extra time. Step four took 30 mins instead of 20...what's 10 more minutes for an awesome meal! Served it with a loaf of crusty bread and Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad (also from this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States