Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great Recipe! I followed it pretty closely. Only made the following changes. Used 4 1/2 lbs of lamb (b/c it's all I had on hand) deglazed using an additional 1/2 cup of white wine, I used a chardonay. Left out the potatoes and subbed more carrots and onions because I was serving this on top of colcannon. And I didn't have thyme so I threw in some sage instead. It was delicious! My husband that doesn't like lamb even loved it. Uploading picture soon. The changes I made were out of necessity, because we don't live close to a store so I'm sure it is delicious the way that the recipe is written also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Pretty good. Needs more spices to bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good St. Paddy's day dinner. Added a McCormick beef stew powdered mix, barley and left out the bacon. Adjusted everything for 1-1/2 lbs cubed lamb. Cooked for about 7 hours in a covered large cast iron covered pot (Lodge). Was very tender and I served it with Irish Soda Bread and a good red wine (already had my 3 guinness's)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was very good. I WISH I had made it 2 days in advance, as the flavor gets even better. We used beef stew meat because it was cheaper and 6 lbs is a LOT. You can use as little as 3 and be fine. Also, we didn't care for the bacon as the texture was a little distracting. And if it looks like there's not enough liquid, resist the urge to dilute. That was a mistake I made. But it's very good! Great with a hunk of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
WOW...I am currently 30 minutes in the process of simmering the stew, and I have to say that it smells and tastes PHENOMINAL already!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakerman1972

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was the best thing I have ever made in my life! It only gets better with every reheat. Even my 11 month old son has been chowing down on it for days!!! Yummy. Planning to make again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I made it for an Irish friend who has traveled throughout the Emerald Isle sampling their stews, and he absolutely raved about it. He said it was better than any he had tried in Ireland. To save money, I used leg of lamb rather than shoulder. I worried it might not be tender enough, but we could cut it with our soup spoons! Also, you must simmer the carrots and potatoes much longer than the recommended 20 minutes to soften them. Lastly, I definitely recommend letting the cooked dish sit in the fridge overnight. Reheat on the stove the next day before serving. This is absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Absolute goodness. I'm a happy cook and my family and friends are happy eaters. To make this great you must do the flour, salt, and pepper coating, as well as the deglazing. Used 12 oz of Scuttlebutt beer instead of wine - 8 oz would be about right. I did it with a 4 lb Costco piece of boneless roast that I cubed - it was just about right for meat content. Nevertheless - true happiness for a winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is the first time I have made Irish Lamb Stew and let me tell you it is most certainly not the last! Hands down this is one of the best meals I have made in some time! Everyone absolutely loved it - even my pickiest son - he had 3 servings. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of only using about half of the lamb meat stated. The ratio was still quite generous. I have decided to make this for my parents when they come visit - I am sure it will be a big hit! Thanks for sharing Danny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabriellyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
We had this for our Family Christmas dinner, it was great. Needs more than 20 min for the vegs. I had to give the recipe out we liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States