Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
My partner is a Buddhist so I substituted chicken broth for the beef broth. Added a tablespoon of wosteshire sauce. It was better than I expected. This is one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
love it should half the recipe for two people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I had a couple of lamb shoulder chops leftover from another night's dinner and decided to make this recipe work with Already cooked lamb. I made the bacon and used the fat to make a roux then added the cooked lamb that I had cut into bite sized pieces along with the vegetables. I let it simmer for about 45 minutes which was perfect for the vegetables to cook through and still have a bit of crunch to them. I also added in a beer because I really like that flavor profile for an Irish Stew. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Atheer
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This dish is delicious! I had some lamb and I wanted to make something different. I made some changes tho it turned great. I substituted bacon with turkey bacon, because we don't eat pork and I didn't add wine or beer either because we don't drink alcohol. I added some green beens to for the color and for greens.. And because we were really hungry I minimized the simmering time for 40 minutes then I added the vegetables for 20. The meat was soft and tender, I'm sure if I went all the way it will be better. Yet it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
2nd time I have made this. 1st part of recipe I placed in crock pot over night, let sit in fridge to bring the fat up, removed as much as I could than placed on stove added the vegetables, AND on advise from one of the reviewers used a guinness extra stout beer. This is my go to lamb stew. The lamb I used, bought a whole lamb and had it butchered and wrapped at local meat processing plant. Used the lamb stew meat. Love the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Parmenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
LOVED IT, but the prep time is a bit longer, the act of browning lamb in bacon fat is like sex:), my kitchen smelled unbelievable. I think you will all enjoy. It's a great meal to cook on a rainy Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was/is really delicious. The following substitutions were made. Costco leg of lamb instead of shoulder. Rice flour instead of wheat flour and increased amount by 1/4 cup. Rich chicken stock instead of beef stock. Purple sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes. Red wine instead of white. Addedd a pound of mushrooms. Simmered for 55 minutes at end instead of 20. Added more salt and pepper at end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
We actually had an overcast day here in So Calif. This was the perfect meal with potato rolls. I also modified this with a stick of celery, four small potatoes, chardonnay, precooked bacon which I had rendered the fat off already. Although the beer instead of wine sounded good, Im not a beer person and preferred the wine taste. The recipe was easy. A novice would realize that carrots and potatoes take longer. I'd hope so anyway. Good tasting stew! Next time I may use parsnips. and chayote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was good and easy. Did not use lamb. Used a cheap cut of beef and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States