Irish Cream Liqueur II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I had to add the instant coffee to the melted chocolate, because it did not dossolve otherwise. Also, I tried replacing the melted chocolate with melted Nutella...AWESOME!!! But all in all, my favorite Irish Cream recipe, and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Don't use more than the recommended amount of chocolate as it changes the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Just made this and haven't aged it yet. 1/2 tsp of coffee granules, and a bottle of Jameson's. The only thing I would change next time would be to use 18% instead of 36% cream. In Canada we only get 18% or 36% and the higher fat one is "whipping cream" and the 18% is called table cream. There's no "heavy cream" in the aisles. Also used 2 cans of 375ml evaporated milk and 2 & 1/2 cans of sweetened condensed milk. Used the best belgian milk chocolate I had in the house. Threw everything except for the whiskey in the double boiler and everything melted just fine. Added a tsp of vanilla to the whole batch. Delish! Will definitely be one of the staples around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have made several different versions of "Irish Cream" over the years and I have to say this is the best version by far. I have given out this recipe to several of my friends and family, once they had a sample of it. The only change I made was using a 1/4 cup of strong brew coffee instead of the coffee granules, as I don't by instant coffee. Thank you for the excellent recipe. Its worth all 5 stars in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is sooo easy and sooo delicious. I did made a few changes to suit our taste and make it slightly less fattening :) I used: - 4 TBLS of chocolate syrup instead of baking chocolate. The chocolate incorporated better this way ...... of course you can add more :) ...... chocolate is good for you, right? - Half and Half instead of Heavy Cream ...... I know, I know, it won't be as rich or as thick but honestly it tastes great! - Like another reviewer I dissolved the coffee granules in some heated evaporated milk before adding. (Thanks MISI1818 :) and - Added 1/4 teas vanilla and 1/8 teas almond extract which is purely optional but added to the taste. Thanks so much 'cheap chef' EVERYONE loved this. I even gave some as gifts and they requested this be part of their Christmas present every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
just made this for the first time. Initial impression is good. Have yet to age and taste. Biggest comment is to make a runny ganache before adding the whiskey as liquor will cause the melted chocolate to thicken. Thus, take about 2/3 cup of the cream and bring it to a boil. Turn off, add the chocolate and let the chocolate melt. Once it has melted, add the rest of the ingredients, whiskey last (don't want to heat the alcohol out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a Home made Christmas Gift to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
YUM! Made it exactly per recipe and the taste is gorgeous after 1 week. I can hardly wait a month for it but I am going to. Thanks for a wonderful recipe and mine will be just in time for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Absolutely Amazing! I know I shouldn't say this but I substituted the Jamisons for a cheaper brand of Irish Whiskey and actually liked it better, it was a bit stronger then the Jamisons but still wonderful. I also use a full 12 oz bag of the milk chocolate morsels which makes it creamer and more chocolatey. I make it every year for our christmas party and always get tons of raves. If you want a real treat top off a shot of homemade khaulua with Irish Cream (drizzled on the side) for a wonderful "baby guiness" Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula20837

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Delicious and very easy. I melted the chocolate in the microwave instead of using a double boiler. (I just thought it was easier). I hope I can wait the 3 weeks to drink it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States