Indian Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This came out very well, I made my own paneer and cubed it up to add to the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
YUM! this is a great saag recipe! It came out great! I used 1lb Spinach, 1/2 lb rainbow chard and 1/2 lb collard greens. This dish stole the show for our Indian Food night. Everyone loved it! I was surprised how much the greens cooked down. I was sure there'd be leftovers but it was all devoured! Thanks for the great recipe -I'll be making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I used this recipe and included potatoes, tomatoes, and onions. It was wonderful! The saag has a good spice balance. and was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I questioned myself every step of the way as I made this, but it turned out phenomenal. I served it over basmati rice with tandoori chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was another attempt at my "first" attempt at Indian food, the coloring was spot on, however, the flavors left a little something to be desired. I don't know if it was my use of the chiles from my local Indian foods store or that some of the spices I had bought for the dish were past their prime. I also added paneer that I purchased to make it like the order from my local Indian restaurant. I will try this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Good, but I think i might just use 2 lbs of spinach next time. I think the mustard greens made it more bitter than I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnie Doty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was a very tasty recipe, especially given how quick it is. I'm still on the prowl for a slightly creamier saag recipe and will be trying the saag chole recipe next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
We had very bitter mustard greens, so I'm sure we did not get the ideal situation. The flavor was still quite good--can't wait to try this with better ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great recipe! One alteration I made on the advice of a local Indian restaurant was to mix 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and 3 tablespoons of water and add this mixture and stir well once the greens have wilted. Then cover and cook for the remaining ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefPat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
great recipe... a little on the salty side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States