Indian Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
YUM! This is the most perfect Saag recipe I have ever tried. I substituded a full head of kale for 3/4 of the spinach, simmered it for an extra 10 minutes to break down the kale. It was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Almost as good as our local gourmet Indian restaurant, which is one of the best rated in the DC area. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
as written I feel like this dish would be pretty bland b/c like others i felt something was missing.. i used all spinach and still felt it was kind of bitter.. i doubled the chile pepper.. added some curry powder and squeezed some lemon over the finished product.. i didn't feel like it was too salty like some said and we don't like salty foods.. wish i would have added some yogurt like another suggested or some sliced mushrooms and red bell pepper.. but that's a thought for some other time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is delicious. I wasn't sure what to do with my large bunch of mustard greens form CSA pick up. We ate them all! I did cut the butter amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Turned out quite well, however I would recommend double the amount of green chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Very nice saag recipe. I used 1/2 spring greens and 1/2 frozen spinach as that's what I had on-hand. I also used dairy-free spread instead of butter to make it vegan. The frozen spinach made it so easy to make (no need to cover or reduce), so I think I'll just use that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Just made this tonight. So good we used a mix of chard, kale and spinach. I used red pepper flakes instead of green chili. We also added some paneer made it perfect. Thank you for a great recipe. We will be making this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This was very easy to make and I thought it turned out pretty good.the only thing I'd do differently is to leave out the salt as it overpowered the other spices. I'm not giving it a higher rating because I liked it more than the rest of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Howard
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Ok this is the second time I have made this recipe, after making it exactly as called for the first time I changed it up a bit. I used 1.5 lbs of spinach and only a .5 lb of the Mustards greens. I also added 1 Tbls of Cornstarch and three Tbls of water. The Saag came out great and was the consistency we liked. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great recipe. I wasn't sure about the peas but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Laney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States