Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I served this flatbread with fresh taco salad. Very good! A little bit hard to roll out. For the 2nd batch I added another 1/4c olive oil - much easier. I also used this recipe for chicken turnovers. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I halved this recipe because I only wanted 5 for my husband and I with our Toor Dal and Indian rice...I added some garlic and onion powder...this recipe should get 10 stars for ease...and it tastes just as good...VERY close to the packaged bread we buy at out local Indian market..thanks for the SIMPLE and GREAT tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent Recipe! I didn't have any whole wheat flour so I just used plain flour instead and I also halved the recipe. They turned out very light and moist, and were great with a potato curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie5786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Always make this bread with curries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
super simple and very good!! went great with my dinner my family liked them..will make again thanks for such an easy recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is an extremely easy recipe that requires so few ingredients, most of us already have these things on hand. The important things to note are 1.) The thinner the better. Use more flour on your hands/rolling pin or alittle extra oil to keep the dough from sticking. 2.) Medium-High heat is best rather than full high as it gives the dough time to brown all over. and 3.) letting the dough rest for a few min after kneading seriously helps its elasticity. Give it a go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanahope

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
It is a great recipe. I cheated and after rolling, traced a round bowl on the dough and I had perfectly round and delicious bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exact with this one. It turned out terrific. I'm a terrible roller so most of my breads looked like amoebas instead of round. The only problem I had was that my pan kept smoking and set off a few smoke detectors. I am going to try for the same results at a lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I can finally say I know how to make Indian bread :):) .... The chapatis were excellent, however, I did a varience to it by adding 1.5 tablespoon of butter.... I like it & so did the family..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Made this recipe for the first time and it's as good as the ones i have at the restaurant. Will try with ghee next time for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States