Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I just returned from a trip to India and was craving chapati. This completely satisfied the craving and tasted just like the ones my hosts made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very easy and absolutely delicious! We made it to accompany some dahl and it was just perfect. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very yummy....I served mine warm with homemade tomato hummus. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FastGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
A basic chapati -that I've used many times - works best with a type of flour called "Atta" which is a hard durum wheat flour available in international markets. Consider letting more than a few minutes - like an hour or more , I prefer to cover with plastic wrap and rest several hours in the fridge if not overnight then bring to room temp before forming and rolling - this allows for the glutens to develope you'll find the dough less sticky and more elastic. Cooking - I prefer to use a cast iron fryingpan or griddle because it retains a more even cooking temperature especially when using an electric stove. What makes a a chapati light and fluffy is the steam that is generated inside the chapati when cooking. after the bottom is lightly brown flip to brown the other side - you will note bubbles starting to form in the cooking chapati - on way to get these bubbles to form and expand between the outside layers is - after the bread is turned - press down on the browned topside with a dampened kitchen towel - you can even feel the bread rise up under the towel continue this all over until the bread is finally done will feel - I prefer to lightly brush one side with melted butter, stack and keep wrapped in a towel until the batch is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Easy and authentic! Recipe made 8 large for me, took a couple tries to get it just right and now I make them all the time. Fresh "bread" in 30 minutes...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I am a Canadian living and working in Taiwan and miss the breads of North America very much. I live in an apartment with no oven, so I am always trying to find breads and baking that I can do in a fry pan. I am amazingly inventive! I wanted a no-yeast flatbread that I could cook without an oven, wasn't sweet and would do for sandwiches and everything else. I found this Indian Chapati Bread and followed the recipe exactly but made a 1/2 recipe. I also let it rest for 30 min. as suggested by others, I was able to roll them very thin but they puffed up nicely, and were delicious. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Unfortunately my chapatis were very crisp and dry even though I made sure the pan was very hot, etc. I'll possibly give them another shot and try rolling then a little thicker to see how I go. I also found then a little salty, so will look to reduce that next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I have never made chapatis before and I'm soo surprised they turned out so good! Made half the recipe which resulted in four medium/large chapatis. We served them as a wrap with an Indian curry. This is a no hassle recipe. No yeast, no raising time, no oven. Tasty and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was really good. I halved the recipe but made it into 8 chapatis. I used Durum Atta Flour to make it more authentic. You can usually find this flour in the international section at the supermarket. Make sure you knead really well till the dough is soft. Also to make it more authentic, after making the chapati I lightly sprayed them with canola oil (you can use melted butter or ghee) and rubbed them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Simple and perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States