Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe was good, but it's easy to wind up with chapati that are hard and dry. To get chapati that are soft and flexible it is crucial that the skillet is very hot, as per the instructions, so that they are done in under 30 seconds per side. Don't be too stingy with the water or cut back on the oil. If your chapati are still too dry, try rolling them out thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
554 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I spent two years in Kenya, and my friend Julie made these for us. She was from Uganda. She rolled her dough balls into long ropes,rubbed them with oil and coiled them into rounds then rolled them out. They were crispy and light. If you let them rest they will raise when put in the skillet. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sayuri
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I did these tonight and they're excellent! They are great with some chicken curry! It's such an easy and good recipe my family's addicted to this bread by now. I find it's absolutely necessary to let the dough rest for about 30-45min. because by then it will be soft, easy to handle and it will cook perfectly and form little bubbles as soon as you put it on the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Super fast and easy. Start making the dough before your main meal, so it has time to relax for rolling. You'll be much happier rolling if you wait 30 minutes after forming balls. Tastes best when it gets dark brown spots and puffs up a bit. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Although traditional chapati are wheat-based, my mother's allergic to wheat, so I used all-purpose flour. These are incredibly easy to make and taste quite good. I added a pinch of coriander to the dough for a little bit of flavor. Roll these out very thin, or else they'll be a little on the chewy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Good recipe. I enjoyed the mild, nutty flavor of the wheat flour. Since it is just my husband and I, it was easy to cut the recipe in half. I also added a couple pinches of sugar for just a hint of sweetness. I really enjoyed the fact it took me no more time to make the Chapati than it does to make biscuits! Another recipe for my binder of favorites. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I halved the recipe and made four chapati. I really did like the taste of it (I added some tumeric and a pinch of sugar as suggested by others.) Just make sure you roll them out thin and be patient when heating up the pan (it needs to be hot and smoking!) Medium High heat is better, imo, to get it hot so it will crisp up better. I served this with Chicken Tandoori and Indian Basmati Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
No more Indian restaurants for me!! Why go out if I can eat Chapati Bread this good. I tried it with the Chickpea Curry recipe submitted by Aminah A. Rahman. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John D'Eye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldershot, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Orléans, Centre, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Great, quick recipe. I needed a bit more water, and had to fry each flatbread for about 60-70 sceonds per side. I added 2 tsp tumeric and 1 tbsp coriander seeds, and the breads came out a nice bright yellow. They went really well with a simple curried potato & cauliflower dish. I'm going to use this recipe tonight to make some sandwich wraps for steak, mushrooms, and rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
My wife and I loved this recipe. Very quick and easy and turned out great. Used a stainless steel pan to cook in, will try a cast iron pan next time so clean up isn't so hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCFD Fire Station 6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States