Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Delicious, easy, and tastes authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I always wanted to make something like this. I made them without any oil and they were as good. Definitely became a staple in my house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sora
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe was very easy. Didn't skimp on the oil, like another reviewer suggested. Also made sure to use warm water to mix the dough They came out great. Made this with curried black eye peas. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Super easy and good but the high heat tends to burn the flour giving off smoke in house. Best done outside or with windows open
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This has been great as our "bread" for Indian meals. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I just returned from a trip to India and was craving chapati. This completely satisfied the craving and tasted just like the ones my hosts made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very easy and absolutely delicious! We made it to accompany some dahl and it was just perfect. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very yummy....I served mine warm with homemade tomato hummus. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FastGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
A basic chapati -that I've used many times - works best with a type of flour called "Atta" which is a hard durum wheat flour available in international markets. Consider letting more than a few minutes - like an hour or more , I prefer to cover with plastic wrap and rest several hours in the fridge if not overnight then bring to room temp before forming and rolling - this allows for the glutens to develope you'll find the dough less sticky and more elastic. Cooking - I prefer to use a cast iron fryingpan or griddle because it retains a more even cooking temperature especially when using an electric stove. What makes a a chapati light and fluffy is the steam that is generated inside the chapati when cooking. after the bottom is lightly brown flip to brown the other side - you will note bubbles starting to form in the cooking chapati - on way to get these bubbles to form and expand between the outside layers is - after the bread is turned - press down on the browned topside with a dampened kitchen towel - you can even feel the bread rise up under the towel continue this all over until the bread is finally done will feel - I prefer to lightly brush one side with melted butter, stack and keep wrapped in a towel until the batch is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States