Iced Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I make these every year around the holidays - people love them. Do not store them in an airtight container though - they have a lot of moisture from the pumpkin and get moist and mushy. They stay great out on the counter for days. Delicious w/ coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1607 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreve, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
These cookies are superb. Soft and cakelike, not at all dense or sticky. The take on a beautiful shape while baking. I replaced 1/2 cup of the white sugar with light brown sugar and used 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 1 1/2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice instead of the spices listed (what I happened to have on hand). Try adding a little cinnamon to the icing--it looks beautiful. So good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
714 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Years ago I gave this wonderful recipe to a former friend of mine who owns a chain of 17 deli-restaurants in our area. Customers LOVE this cake-like cookie. It is so popular it is sold year-round. Skip the glaze and use a cream cheese icing instead. Delicious! *****UPDATE 2011***** Apparently these are THE most popular cookies sold in this business and they sell out daily. If anyone is wondering, the initials of this business are "C.B" and it is located in the mid-south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
561 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This recipe is very good. However, I needed to make a few adjudments. I followed the recipe exactly and the end product was this: a cookie that was bready and not sweet like a cookie should be. So for my second batch I added more pumpkin and more sugar and decreased the baking time to 12 minutes. Also, since I'm not a big fan of icing on cookies, I ommitted the icing. Viola! A perfect pumpkin spice cookie =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
The cookie by itself is just good. By adding cinnamon to the frosting and sprinkling chopped pecans on top it rates outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHOBUNNY
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
These cookies are very good,...soft, fluffy, moist, subtle spices, and just enough pumpkin flavor. Texture was similar to a muffin top. I was attempting to get a denser consistency, so I baked the cookies for only about 12 min and substituted 1/2 of the white sugar with brown. Also, I used almost the whole 15oz can of pumpkin puree, which made the dough stickier to work with, but the end product still tasted great (although not dense like I was hoping). I uploaded 2 photos of the finished cookie, iced and not iced. For the iced ones, I dropped 1 tablespoon of the mixture and lightly flattened them. No spreading whatsoever...even the little "peaks" from dropping onto the sheet remained intact. So for subsequent batches, I smoothed the drops of dough with my fingers. The icing was way too sweet for me. For the un-iced ones, I flattened them with a sugared bottom cup. I liked the un-iced ones better...simple and basic in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOBUNNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
For someone who has never liked pumpkin much these cookies are just pure DANGER! Not only was the wonderful 'Fall' aroma wonderful through the house ... but the cookies are extremely tasty. I can just tell I'll be making these quite a bit this season ... maybe even still this week again ... I'd love to share it with everyone! Not too bad in the fat/calorie content area either ... especially since I used margarine instead of butter and they still turned out awesome! Thankyou so much Gina for changing my idea of pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Very good! I made this recipe as listed except for using 1 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar as opposed to all white. I also added mini chocolate chips. They are great without frosting but also delightful with a little cream cheese icing drizzled on top. I think my batch made 40 cookies. I will be keeping this recipe, sharing it with friends and making them throughout the year. Many, many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
You can't go wrong with this recipe. I already posted 2 reviews and I'm still getting requests all the time!! I use 3 tsp. pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices and they turn out great. I always double the recipe too because there never seems to be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
I made these for a Halloween potluck for my office and they were gone by lunchtime with many requests to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States