Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe. Like many other reviewers, I adjusted it to suit my taste. For me that meant less tahini, less lemon juice, less salt, more chickpea juice, and a (small) roasted red chili. The result was nice. I'll take another reviewer's suggestion and freeze most of it in single-serving packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I agree with 2 cans of beans, at least another clove of garlic, thinning this a bit, but I do love this recipe. All changes obviously suit our individual tastes but for heavens sake, if you are making this wonderful dish you can easily make the tahini and save a ton of cash. Tahini is nothing more than 3-4 C toasted sesame seeds and 1/4 to 1/2 C olive oil mixed in a VitaMix or your processor adjusted to your taste! It'll last a month or so in your fridge. It's worth the price of toasted seeds from MySpiceSage.com or from your favorite spice vendor. If you want to toast them yourself, you can buy them raw and have a ball. You can prep your tahini to the consistency of any nut butter or thinner as you wish. Although I don't prep my own beans for this, I still like controlling the ingredients of this dish. I try to avoid canned food so I expect I will also be prepping from dried beans soon and avoid the canned chemicals. I can't say enough about this wonderful, easily prepared, dish. You can start from scratch and make a whole lot more for a whole lot less! I don't eat snacks but I will make an exception for this. It's great with raw vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Yum! We'll never buy this in the store again. This was the best--like restaurants serve. We added a green onion to the mix and put the parsley in the food processor as well. We also added a little water to make it creamier. Fantastic with pita bread that's coated in olive oil, topped with a sprinkle of salt and Italian spices, and toasted in the oven for about 6 minutes on 400. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Perfection! I absolutely love the flavor of this simple hummus! The only thing I changed was adding a bit of water so my older blender could manage everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Goldendale, Washington, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was very good. I made half using half the ingredients with the exception of garlic I stuck with 2 cloves of garlic. The family loved it. We had no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I have limited experience with hummus both with eating it and with making my own. I’m not sure if there’s a particular way it’s SUPPOSED to taste. What I do know, however, is that it contains just a few fundamental ingredients, but even something so simple can be ruined with too much or too little of this or that. I added slightly less than a half teaspoon of cumin, some reserved liquid from the beans to thin it out some, and a drizzle of olive oil (as well as an additional drizzle to finish). For my palate, this was some pretty good hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Best hummus recipe! I like to add extra lemon juice for more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very good and very easy. I roasted a few heads of garlic and added a bit more lemon juice and paprika. I also added marinated artichoke hearts when I blended it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is the perfect hummus recipe! Ensure to chill the hummus for a bit before serving. And if you have a food processor - it turns out way better than using your blender. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States