Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Easy recipe with reliable results. I halved the recipe then once it was made, I split it into two batches and added a roasted red capsicum to one half and blended that in. Both were very yummy. I also added just a tad more lemon juice and it all went down a treat. Definitely keep the liquid from the can of chickpeas, you'll need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It didn't quite meet my expectations; was too tangy. I think I'll leave this to the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Followed recipe and LOVED IT! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Mulcahy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I've eaten way more than my fair share of hummus over the years. I developed a taste for it while spending time in Israel. This recipe is a good base for a wonderful dish. To really create the authentic Middle Eastern flavor though add a handful of chopped fresh parsley and a 1/4 cup of olive oil to the blender when you mix this up. It's then served spread out on a plate with a drizzle of olive oil and a little more fresh chopped parsley over the top. Warm pita bread is always on the side to scoop up the heavenly bliss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
First time making hummus. I did find the original recipe a bit bland but I like spicier foods. I added 4 crushed garlic cloves, 1 tbs red pepper flakes, 1 tbs olive oil, 1 C juice from drained garbanzo bean cans, used two of these, 1 tsp smoked paprika, 1 tbs lemon juice, and 1 tsp ground cumin, and 3 tbs tahini paste. I love it. I think it will be better blending overnight, if there is any left that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cedar Key, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Great basic recipe! This works well as a base from which you can add other ingredients to create your own special hummus to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This looks like a great, easy recipe. I was wondering about hummus with tamari (light soy sauce). Do you think Worcestershire sauce would work also? I'm thinking of making it and wonder if anyone tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
The texture seems a bit dry. Next time I'll try to add some oil to it, hopefully it will make it more moist and not as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Better late than never! I had never even tasted hummus before so I thought it was time to give this a shot and the thing I like most about this site are the reviews where you get intelligent feedback from other readers to help you tweak a recipe. I knew I would prefer roasted garlic over fresh and after a preliminary tasting, I added some crushed red pepper flakes. My beta hummus came out delicious. This will be my new default snack for a least a couple months. Next time I will add a smidgen of cumin and a modest sprinkling of roasted red pepper. When I grill some fish or chicken I will add roasted pine nuts to my hummus and serve it in place of rice or potatoes. Thanks for this great new addition to my culinary repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Has too much lemon juice for my tastes, but the final product, after tweaking, is really very good. The secret to the texture is to process for several minutes in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States