Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe is very similar to my Greek mother’s recipe with some minor differences: my mom usually drains the beans but saves some liquid in case the dip turns out dry (which it almost always does). She also adds 2 teaspoons more of lemon juice and a little bit of olive oil directly to the food processor. The rest is exactly the same. I love this dip with pita chips and makes a perfect appetizer along with tabbouleh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Very yummy. This was my first try at making hummus. I did not add as much tahini (which I made myself, too), figuring I could add more after tasting. I stuck with just a couple of large teaspoons. I added cumin, fresh basil and a small jar of marinated artichokes. Next time, I'll try lime juice instead of lemon, just for a slight change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is a nice, basic way to start making humus. I make is a lot with my 4 year old. It's quick, a good base, and you can easily add more to this base. I make my own beans, which I feel makes it taste even better. Roasted garlic is also a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Are you wondering why your hummus tasted sour? Why it doesn't taste like the dreamy smooth creamy deliciousness you had in Jerusalem? Yes, it has the tangy sourness of the store-bought stuff, but that's not what we're aiming at here. We are looking for the real deal. And this tastes different because you need to put in A LOT more tahina and olive oil. And, p.s. a little trick for fluffy creamy hummus is a bit of seltzer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This contains way too much tahini. I added an extra can of garbanzo beans, and that helped, but I had to seek out a different recipe for hummus so that my family would enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Great basic recipe. I encourage everyone to be creative and experiment with this one. I used 1 cup of dried garbanzo beans, which I soaked and cooked till tender (you can easily Google to find directions of how to do this). I would much rather do this than used canned beans - the cans contain BPA. I didn't have any fresh parsley, so I added 1 tsp of dried to the mix. I did add some cumin - maybe a 1/2 - 1 tsp or so, and a good size hunk of roasted red pepper or 1 fresh red bell pepper, cored and cut into chunks. I increased the garlic as well - about 2 to 6 cloves can be used depending on your taste. I also added a dash or two of smoked paprika to the mix. I used the juice of two lemons rather than the 1/4 cup called for in the recipe. Delicious and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Very easy to make, and very easy to modify for more or less spice or different focus flavors. great alternative to mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Very quick & easy to make AND Much better than the store bought - WOW! SOO YUMMY!!! I use this with pita bread and veggies !! I do add a little more garlic (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
First time making hummus...it was delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a great base! I changed it to our liking by using 2 cans garbanzo beans, 1/3 cup lemon juice, only 3/4 tsp. salt, an extra tsp. olive oil, 2 pinches of paprika, 1/4 tsp cumin and left out the parsley. I added a little liquid from the beans until it is the consistency we like. I have made it with many things added to it too. Our favorites are: Kalamata olives blended in or capers on top or topped with Sriracha hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States