Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is my first shot at making hummus. I've never really liked hummus because my mom used to buy the premade stuff in a plastic container and it never tasted very good. Then the other day I went to an Iranian restaurant with a friend and she wanted hummus so we ordered it. It was delicious and I couldn't get enough of it, so I decided to try and make my own. This was pretty good, but very dry. I ended up adding a lot of water (a full cup and a half) to get it to the consistency I liked, and it tasted a bit too lemony, but I just need to fine-tune it. All in all this is fantastic. Even my husband and kids liked it, so it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Better then anything you'll find in the store. Just make sure to use a food processor not a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
A little dry and thick for me. Added a bit of olive oil into the blender as well. Didn't de-shell the chickpeas but will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Next time I will decrease the salt, I find it salty for me. But other than that it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The taste is good. Next time I would not add as much salt as is called for. I don't use a lot of salt typically and the quantity specified in the recipe is a bit much for me. I think I'l also add either more tahini or more lemon juice to make the consistency a bit smoother and not quite as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Delicious. We used dry peas that we had soaked/boiled. They were dry even after preparing them so we had to add a bit of water since it was much too dry (canned chickpeas would have a much higher water content than our reconstituted dried had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Wonderful. I had to add water to get it to blend in my magic bullet but other than that it was a cinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Easy and delicious! Just the way I like it. Made it with orange juice once because I didn't have any lemons - a sweeter twist on the recipe but no less yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Almost as good as on the streets of Jerusalem ... ALmost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Tried this recipe based on the reviews and agree with most, excellent as written and a great base to change it up according to your tastes. I added a bit more garlic and more lemon juice. The flavors were intense at first but after letting it sit in the fridge overnight, the next day the flavors had mellowed out and were outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States