Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Made this for my daughter to take to school for a Greek lesson. It was ok. I added more olive oil because is was so dry. Then my daughter wanted more of a garlic flavor so she added a few more cloves not sure how many but she loved it. Her classmates not so much. Have not decided if this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I make hummus quite often now that I found this recipe. I should have posted a review earlier, since I've been using this as my base for several years now. Like others, I reduce the amount of tahini (I use a heaped tablespoon) and I use whatever juice I get from half a fresh squeezed lemon plus extra liquid from the can of beans. I also add a pinch of cayenne pepper or red pepper flakes and dill(!!) to the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is fantastic. I typically add an extra garlic clove and about a half teaspoon of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Craven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe. I think it's a great starter for any hummus (roasted garlic, artichoke, etc.) It looks like I followed suit with many others, in that I cut back on the tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pic2548

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I didn't have lemons so I used limes and I didn't use the olive oil, but only because I thought the recipe was perfect without it. Great flavor, texture, and just the right balance of garlicky pungency to savory, mild garbanzo/chickpea creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qweendark

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I personally love hummus. My hubby had thought hummus was just okay... UNTIL I made THIS RECIPE! The entire batch I made was consumed within 24 hours (mostly by him!)! I believe that says a lot. I doubled the garlic, added a bit of water (I found recipe to be too thick). Drizzling olive oil, parsley, and paprika on top? Well, that just makes for the perfect touch at serving. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Off I go to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I added cumin and crushed red pepper... I also added the olive oil in the bean mixture before blending.... Nice recipe.. Will making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe. Like many other reviewers, I adjusted it to suit my taste. For me that meant less tahini, less lemon juice, less salt, more chickpea juice, and a (small) roasted red chili. The result was nice. I'll take another reviewer's suggestion and freeze most of it in single-serving packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I agree with 2 cans of beans, at least another clove of garlic, thinning this a bit, but I do love this recipe. All changes obviously suit our individual tastes but for heavens sake, if you are making this wonderful dish you can easily make the tahini and save a ton of cash. Tahini is nothing more than 3-4 C toasted sesame seeds and 1/4 to 1/2 C olive oil mixed in a VitaMix or your processor adjusted to your taste! It'll last a month or so in your fridge. It's worth the price of toasted seeds from MySpiceSage.com or from your favorite spice vendor. If you want to toast them yourself, you can buy them raw and have a ball. You can prep your tahini to the consistency of any nut butter or thinner as you wish. Although I don't prep my own beans for this, I still like controlling the ingredients of this dish. I try to avoid canned food so I expect I will also be prepping from dried beans soon and avoid the canned chemicals. I can't say enough about this wonderful, easily prepared, dish. You can start from scratch and make a whole lot more for a whole lot less! I don't eat snacks but I will make an exception for this. It's great with raw vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Yum! We'll never buy this in the store again. This was the best--like restaurants serve. We added a green onion to the mix and put the parsley in the food processor as well. We also added a little water to make it creamier. Fantastic with pita bread that's coated in olive oil, topped with a sprinkle of salt and Italian spices, and toasted in the oven for about 6 minutes on 400. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States