Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
My husband is a Chicago native and every time we go back to visit, we make a Bari's run to stock up on their medium and hot giardiniera. When I needed a milder version for a dinner party, I used this recipe -- and we like it even better. The big difference is that instead of running the jars through a canning process, I just stick them in the back of the fridge for up to six months. As long as the vegetables are submerged in the briny oil, they stay crunchy, bright and beautiful. For those of you who find the oil off-putting, consider this. As we use the "fresh" giardiniera, I pour that yummy oil into another container and repurpose it as a fabulous secret ingredient in pizza/foccacia dough and Italian soups. I also brush it on split rolls and toast them in the oven to elevate my Italian Beef sandwiches. (The modifications I apply to this recipe are omitting the saltwater soak, adding a 12 oz jar of sliced pepperoncini/banana peppers, and substituting canola oil for olive oil.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Loved it!! Used 1/2 cup of white wine vinegar and 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Photo by gracie1210
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Love this recipe! I left out the cauliflower and carrots simply because I had none on hand. I ended up with a wonderful accompaniment to go with my fried calamari & plan to serve it in the future with bean soup, salmon & many other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Oh wow !! All I can say is I normally do not like pickled anything. Yet this recipe caught my eye and I thought I'd make it for family. Tried it. It just made my mouth so happy. I did however drop the jalapenos from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dadeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tip: Substitute canola instead of olive oil so it won't solidify in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicakat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
LOVE this. I'm a huge pickled/vinegar fan. I can eat a jar of pickles in a sitting. This satisfies my cravings, without all the salt that most pickles, etc., have. I upped the vinegar by about 1/4 of a cup and added about 1/2 cup of water to help cover, but decreased the oil by 1/2 cup. After making this, I don't mind the oil in it, but I'm not convinced that it adds a lot, so I will further decrease it to 1/4 cup the next time I make this. I didn't dice, but prepared this as finger food. Load up a bowl and eat this all by itself - yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I really wanted this to work. I made as written and I felt that the cauliflower and the carrots were too tough and the celery was soggy. Next time I would par-cook the cauliflower and carrots. Since I invested so much produce I chopped up and put in a farro salad. It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but it didn't work for us. The vinegar was overpowering and the olive oil does solidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnwinke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
An excellent recipe! I can this recipe and as others mentioned, you should not use oil when canning, it acts as an insulator and may not kill any botulism cells present. I skip the oil and after you drain and rinse the vegetables, bring 4 c. vinegar, the garlic, red pepper flakes, black pepper and oregano to a boil. Add the vegetables and olives and heat through until just about to boil. Pack the vegetables and liquid in jars and process in a hot water bath for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Double the batch, it evaporates once you present an open jar to your guests. I wouldn't change a thing and I've made this five times in a three month period. Family and friends are asking for this in lieu of jams for Christmas food gifts. LOVE IT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States