Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Usually when I make pudding I place all of the dry ingredients in the pan and then add a small amount of cold water to dissolve everything. Then I put the milk in a glass measuring cup and microwave on high for 2 minutes. Add the warmed up milk to the dissolved dry ingredients and heat and stir till thickened. This reduces the amount of time you have to spend standing and stirring at the stove till thickened. I liked this recipe but it was a little bit too sweet for me so next time I will reduce the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
MADE IT!!! I MADE IT A BIT LUMPY BUT IT WAS GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
The first time I made this pudding I thought it came out very good. I struggled a little with needing to whisk out lumps, but not many. It set up well and I love that it is much more healthy and wholesome than box mix puddings. I repeated the recipe tonight and noticed it said to cook only enough to coat the spoon, not to boil the milk. I had not noticed this instruction the first time I made it and probably overcooked it. That said, after putting the bowl of pudding in the fridge to chill I realized it had not set enough and would remain liquid. Put it back in the pot and cooked it, not to a boil but to the point where the pudding was thickened and I was having to fight lumps. This time I can see it will be fine again. Perhaps my training of what constitutes a liquid that will coat a spoon differs from the author of the recipe. The pudding is sweet, but not overly so. I added a good dash of nutmeg while I was cooking & stirring, gives it a little more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seattlejanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tried this recipe out of curiosity and it was great! I took the other reviewers ideas and put in dry ingredients first. It was still a bit lumpy but the flavor is great! Thanks for the great pudding idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I really enjoyed it. But my kids didnt like it at all. That is why I gave it a 3. I will still make it for my self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is a great basic pudding recipe, and it can be used to make any other pudding you want! I have made it with almond milk and have not had a problem with getting the right consistency. -Add all the dry ingredients, stir in cold liquid, and then heat. Voila, no lumps. If you do get lumps, push it through sifter. -Add some ginger (1/4 tsp) and cinnamon (1/2tsp) powder for a spicy vanilla pudding. -Add some cocoa powder for chocolate. Seriously the possibilities are endless. This is a great recipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdean82
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The recipe as written does produce a fantastic pudding with lumps. The "reverse" method suggested by other reviewers will make this a 5-star recipe. It's sad to think that the only pudding I can compare this to is in a Jello box. It took 50 years but I've finally found something better. I'm noticing that this pudding recipe was added over 10 years ago. It's survived a decade of scrutiny. It's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dabeau1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristelle Bentley
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Maple & Brown Sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Did it first time no lumps tasted very good almost like a custard but with no egg's. For people with the problem with lumps, when you put the corn starch mixer into the milk you cannot leave it a second soon as the corn starch hits the milk you need to mix or whisk. Best results is using a nice balloon whisky to get rid of the lump and a spoon will not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan P Bolton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I mixed the cornstarch in w/ a 1/2 cup of 'milk' that I reserved. I used 1 1/2 cups of half and half, with 1/4 cup water b/c I had no milk. I couldn't find my vanilla beans, until RIGHT after I potted up my dessert. I love this recipe, and this site. It never occurred to me that I could make pudding from scratch. I was a bit grossed out when I read the ingredients on the instant pudding mix my husband brought home tonight, so I ran here to see how I could avoid that mess. Thanks Rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carress

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States