Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
When using cornstarch it is always best to divide the liquid being used, remove 1/4c milk and place into separate container and as you heat the rest of the milk place cornstarch alone into the 1/4c milk and whisk. It's important to whisk to prevent lumpy and create a good consistency. It's important to add the cornstarch when the rest of the milk is warm enough and place the salt and vanilla at same time. Last step put in butter. There are also some variations, you can place the cornstarch in and allow the liquid to boil for up to 2 minutes before pouring into the serving cups. Just make sure to stir constantly to prevent burning and you can omit the butter if you boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I just made this exactly as written. as long as you keep wisking you will have little to no lumps. very tasty served warm as well as chilled a bit.. I made cinnamon raisin toast and broke it up in a bowl and scooped a warm portion over it.. definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Delicious. I made a half recipe. Whisked an egg yolk into the milk and poured into dry ingredients then heated it. Perfect consistency. Poured warm pudding over sliced bananas. Mmmm. Gluten free bananna pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Good recipe. I avoided lumps by slowly whisking in the dry ingredients. This worked perfectly in a peanut butter trifle recipe that was a huge hit at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I completed this recipe substituting the cornstarch for ap flour (I added one additional tsp). Instead of adding the vanilla and the butter once the boiling process had completed, instead I added it after sifting in and blending the sugar mixture into the pot, bringing to boil. The final results were DELISH!! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Absolutely no problem with lumping or getting it to thicken. I mixed the milk, sugar, corn starch and salt in a bowl first to get rid of lumps, then put it in a pot on the stove and cooked and stirred constantly for about 7 minutes on medium heat. Then add the vanilla and margarine at the end like specified once pudding is thickened enough to coat a spoon. I made my pudding into pudding pops this morning though :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This turned out GREAT! I used 2% milk and added 2 egg yolks like reviewers suggested. I also slowly added the dry ingredients to the cold milk stirring w/ a with a whisk and then heated up the milk stirring constantly adding the yolk as I stirred. Taste testing as I went I was worried it was going to be too starchy. But NOPE! Not at all! Came out delicious! Next TRY, Rice Pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was the first time that I've ever made homemade pudding. I doubled the recipe, but only added 3/4 C sugar instead of a whole cup. The pudding was still very sweet. This was easy to make and turned out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love the taste and texture of this pudding! I doubled the vanilla (I use the expensive kind) and it gave a more intense vanilla flavor. Next time I will reduce the amount of sugar which should bring out the vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is pretty good. For some reason my craving has been vanilla pudding. Yes I got lumps couple times but I ended up putting it in the blender lol. Also what helps not get lumps is putting all the ingredients in the cold milk and then put it in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States