Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
THis is a basic pudding. I have read all the troubles people have been having with 'lumps' I did NOT follow the recipe as written. Everytime I have had to use cornstarch to thicken, and to add in a liquid I have ALWAYS known that the very best way to have no lumps is to disolve it in COLD liquid. SO the easy solution...put all the dry ingrediants in the pot, including cornstarch. Add COLD milk/soy, whisk briskly until nicely disolved, THEN kick in the heat and continue. Wala! No lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Yummy! I love this recipe because it doesn't use eggs, which are, (to be perfectly honest!), a bit of a pain when making home-made puddings. TO AVOID LUMPS, do not follow the directions as written. Blend all dry ingredients in the pot you're going to cook the pudding in. Then slowly whisk in the milk until it's blended. THEN turn on the heat and start cooking! I added cinnamon and nutmeg, which is absolutely delicious, but makes the pudding not as "pretty" because it turns it a bit dark. We don't care...just like the flavor! I also added 2 cups of cooked brown rice, to turn it into rice pudding. If you like raisins in your rice pudding, just put 1/2 cup raisins in a 2-cup glass measure, add 1 cup water, and microwave 1 minute to "plump." Drain and add to the cooked pudding along with the rice. Raisins are an iron-rich fruit, and also add a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
573 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This is a light and creamy pudding and delicious. The only thing I did differently was to put the sugar, constarch, and salt in my saucepan first and then slowly added cold soy milk - stirring constantly. When well blended I turned on the burner and cooked until thickened. No lumps! Another time I might add a little more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I altered the recipe a bit, but my main complaint is that it was too sweet to eat (and I like sweets). I did not change the amount of sugar, but would cut it in half if I made this again. I did use only 2 Tbls. cornstarch, but added 1 egg yolk for thickening, richness, and color. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. The flavor and consistency was great, just way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I used half & half instead of milk. I like my pudding rich and thick (spoiled by store-bought, I guess), so when it was thick enough to coat the back of a spoon I let it cool a bit, then whisked in 2 egg yolks and continued cooking & stirring until it was thick enough that it divided to show a streak of the bottom of the pot when stirred. Was great, exactly what I was craving. Would make a good pie filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
The consistency of this pudding was the best thing about it. Perfect thickness for pie or pudding. I got lumps the first time I made it, so the 2nd time, instead of heating the milk first, I put the dry ingredients in the pan & added the milk gradually while stirring, then cooked it, stirring constantly. This prevented lumps. Also it was too sweet for my taste so I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. I liked it better with less sugar, which was surprising because I am a huge sugaraholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I loved this! I put all of the ingredients except the butter in a lidded jar, shook to blend & then proceeded with the recipe as written. I had a vanilla bean which added tons of flavor. I had no problem with it setting up too thick, it turned out perfectly. I even used 1% milk! I can't wait to try it using other flavors & I might see how it freezes. Thanks so much for such a quick, easy, & delish recipe!:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This one is another winner! Whisking the mixture while cooking is the key and you don't have any lumps or cooked on piece and clumps from the bottom of pan! This is so easy and my favorite!! You have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Excellent and easy. I, too, used soy milk and it came out great. I disolved the corn starch in a couple of tablespoons of milk before adding it and that eliminated any problems with lumps. This would make a great custard topping for fruit, or any dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This tasted too starchy. I will keep using the Jell-o brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States