Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I completed this recipe substituting the cornstarch for ap flour (I added one additional tsp). Instead of adding the vanilla and the butter once the boiling process had completed, instead I added it after sifting in and blending the sugar mixture into the pot, bringing to boil. The final results were DELISH!! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Absolutely no problem with lumping or getting it to thicken. I mixed the milk, sugar, corn starch and salt in a bowl first to get rid of lumps, then put it in a pot on the stove and cooked and stirred constantly for about 7 minutes on medium heat. Then add the vanilla and margarine at the end like specified once pudding is thickened enough to coat a spoon. I made my pudding into pudding pops this morning though :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This turned out GREAT! I used 2% milk and added 2 egg yolks like reviewers suggested. I also slowly added the dry ingredients to the cold milk stirring w/ a with a whisk and then heated up the milk stirring constantly adding the yolk as I stirred. Taste testing as I went I was worried it was going to be too starchy. But NOPE! Not at all! Came out delicious! Next TRY, Rice Pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was the first time that I've ever made homemade pudding. I doubled the recipe, but only added 3/4 C sugar instead of a whole cup. The pudding was still very sweet. This was easy to make and turned out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love the taste and texture of this pudding! I doubled the vanilla (I use the expensive kind) and it gave a more intense vanilla flavor. Next time I will reduce the amount of sugar which should bring out the vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is pretty good. For some reason my craving has been vanilla pudding. Yes I got lumps couple times but I ended up putting it in the blender lol. Also what helps not get lumps is putting all the ingredients in the cold milk and then put it in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Creamy, thick and pretty yummy as a basic pudding recipe. No strong flavor, though. But I will keep it as a good go-to recipe. Took the advice of others and did dry ingredients first while mixing in wet slowly before turning on the heat. Perfectly smooth. After we added a little cinnamon and nutmeg which made it delicious. Might be fun to try adding other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Tried the recipe with a couple variations, the first was increasing the sugar by a 1/4 cup and adding an 1/8 tsp of coconut powder into the dried ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Love it. I did the same way suggested by many other people that do the dried ingridients first and them milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made this for dessert tonight. Great recipe! My husband and kids really enjoyed it. Didn't change a thing. I had all of the ingredients on hand so I thought, why not? This recipe took only minutes to make and was cheap! I had no problems with lumps, but agree that it was a tad too sweet. Next time, I might subtract a couple of tablespoons of the sugar...or maybe not. I will never buy store-bought pudding after having this. Will definitely make this again! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States