Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I love! I love it because I can make it myself without a guardian watching me! It tastes REALLY good to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillie Monsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I just used this recipe for banana pudding. It was great! I added some cream cheese after the butter and vanilla as an afterthought. It made it really rich. Great basic recipe to have in my box. It is super easy. Definitely mix the dry ingredients with cold milk first though to avoid lumpy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great recipe consistency and flavor . It was so easy thank you very much .I did not have any lumps but I added dry ingredients a little at a time and used a wire whisk came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was just ok for me. The flavor was good, but only after I added extra vanilla, close to a tablespoon. I made Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding(by Kelly) from this site last night and the texture/thickness was perfect this one needs tinkering with in my opinion. It just didn't thicken up as much as I would have liked, and it's nearly impossible to add more cornstarch because it would thin it out(not sure of the physics behind that, but that is what I've always been told about adding more cornstarch to something that's already been thickened). It had more of a creme anglaise thickness, which was fine since I was serving it over some pound cake I had leftover in the freezer, but it definitely was not "pudding" thickness made as stated. Even cooking on medium heat and constantly stirring, it still scorched on the bottom a bit, and I have brown pieces floating around, it won't deter me from eating it, but I wouldn't serve it to company. I'm not sure if I'll make this again, since I had better luck with the other recipe, I may try that one, but leave out the cocoa powder and add extra vanilla. The method is different too, mix dry first, add milk, then heat. Maybe I'll try this recipe again doing the method like that. Thanks so much for the recipe anyways, it'll give me a challenge to tinker with it(I like tinkering!)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I think store bought puddings with all the artificial flavors have ruined me. This recipe seems a little bland. I think as pie filling or parfait it would be better (other flavors to mingle with the vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this recipe with the ingredients exactly as written using the microwave method that is used for "Hasty Chocolate Pudding" It turned out perfect. I used a large microwave safe bowl added the dry ingredients, whisked in the milk until completely blended, then microwaved for 3 minutes. I then whisked it again and microwaved at 1 min intervals until it reached the perfect consistency which in my microwave took an additional 2 and a half minutes for a total time of 5 and a half minutes. I then stirred in the butter and vanilla. I topped mine with a little cinnamon and nutmeg and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was so easy. I follow the recipe and I had NO LUMPS. This my new favorite and will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Way too much sugar. Good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I agree it's basic but good... I also agree with adding all ingredients to the cold milk whisking then heating, I modified this recipe and added 2 egg yolks and some cinnamon.. I put all of the ingredients in the sauce pan minus the butter and whisked then blended the mixture in my nutribullet, I then added the blended mixture to the saucepan and turned on to medium heat and added the butter, I whisked vigorously until it thickened and then put the pudding in a glass bowl, sprinkled a little bit of cinnamon sugar on the top and chilled. I served it with whipped topping and homemade cinnamon sugar chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Guas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States