Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was just ok for me. The flavor was good, but only after I added extra vanilla, close to a tablespoon. I made Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding(by Kelly) from this site last night and the texture/thickness was perfect this one needs tinkering with in my opinion. It just didn't thicken up as much as I would have liked, and it's nearly impossible to add more cornstarch because it would thin it out(not sure of the physics behind that, but that is what I've always been told about adding more cornstarch to something that's already been thickened). It had more of a creme anglaise thickness, which was fine since I was serving it over some pound cake I had leftover in the freezer, but it definitely was not "pudding" thickness made as stated. Even cooking on medium heat and constantly stirring, it still scorched on the bottom a bit, and I have brown pieces floating around, it won't deter me from eating it, but I wouldn't serve it to company. I'm not sure if I'll make this again, since I had better luck with the other recipe, I may try that one, but leave out the cocoa powder and add extra vanilla. The method is different too, mix dry first, add milk, then heat. Maybe I'll try this recipe again doing the method like that. Thanks so much for the recipe anyways, it'll give me a challenge to tinker with it(I like tinkering!)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I think store bought puddings with all the artificial flavors have ruined me. This recipe seems a little bland. I think as pie filling or parfait it would be better (other flavors to mingle with the vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this recipe with the ingredients exactly as written using the microwave method that is used for "Hasty Chocolate Pudding" It turned out perfect. I used a large microwave safe bowl added the dry ingredients, whisked in the milk until completely blended, then microwaved for 3 minutes. I then whisked it again and microwaved at 1 min intervals until it reached the perfect consistency which in my microwave took an additional 2 and a half minutes for a total time of 5 and a half minutes. I then stirred in the butter and vanilla. I topped mine with a little cinnamon and nutmeg and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was so easy. I follow the recipe and I had NO LUMPS. This my new favorite and will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Way too much sugar. Good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I agree it's basic but good... I also agree with adding all ingredients to the cold milk whisking then heating, I modified this recipe and added 2 egg yolks and some cinnamon.. I put all of the ingredients in the sauce pan minus the butter and whisked then blended the mixture in my nutribullet, I then added the blended mixture to the saucepan and turned on to medium heat and added the butter, I whisked vigorously until it thickened and then put the pudding in a glass bowl, sprinkled a little bit of cinnamon sugar on the top and chilled. I served it with whipped topping and homemade cinnamon sugar chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Guas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My husband asked for dirt cake for his birthday so I had to find a pudding recipe. I have a custard recipe but it is a bit too rich for dirt cake so I found this, the first recipe I came to. I skimmed the ingredients, simple enough. Checked out the reviews, and became a bit scared to try this. I decided I would try it like it says, make no changes and give it an honest shot. Guess what....it turned out perfect! I heated the milk, waited until it was warm and slowly added the dry ingredients. I stirred the mixture the entire time, about 6 minutes give or take a few, but constantly stirred. I changed direction in stirring every few turns but stirred that pudding. It is delicious, not too sweet, not too plain. No lumps. I say don't be intimidated by the recipe or reviews. Follow the directions and its great. Just make sure you stir! Cannot wait to have the dirt cake tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My 5th grader made this for us. All the kids here and the adult (me) agree that it's between a 4 and 5 star recipe. The flavor is lovely (we did add a splash more vanilla as we do with most things). But this is definitely a cooked pudding recipe and so the texture was much different then they were use to. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Except for mixing the cornstarch mixture into cold milk, I made the recipe exactly. It was wonderful. The person who said that this pudding tasted like custard was right. Don't know how that can happen with no eggs! The texture is smooth and light maybe because I stirred it with a whisk while cooking. The second time I made it I added 2 Tbs of cocoa powder, but it would be great with any flavoring extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States