Homemade Marshmallows II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I hope that the person who posted this recipe will tell me how she whipped the marshmallows. I tried this twice. I used a thermometer to judge the temperature, but when I beat it, it turned to dust. I am desperate to find a vegetarian marshmallow recipe. I used a stand mixer. Too much power?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
i found an alternate recipe which uses agar agar, or kanteen, the sea weed coagulent, when i tried this recipie, i had the opposite problem, too soft, but tasted yummy. maybe if you try this one you will find a happy medium. good lick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I followed the directions explicitly and ended up with a hard, crumbly lump. Really disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This recipe is not very good. When I tried to "whip" the "marshmellows" (as Barb said you should), the off-white mixture became clumpy and crumb-like. In my opinion, this recipe deserves no stars because the "marshmellows" tasted bad and this whole thing was a waste of my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
I agree with the previous rating! Tired this recipe twice and both times it came out terrible. All I can think of is that an ingredient is missing from it :( If I could give this a minus 5 stars I would!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
The review (treasureheart ,I think) was correct. This recipe is missing something that is very helpful--------3 tablespoons of clear,flavorless KNOX JELLOtin. It is very helpful for the stiffening process. add jello to the 3/4 cup cold water (chil 25 min). Add to mixture. The best place to get exact directions is on OPRAH.com under clebrity Recipes--under Martha stewards Hot cocoa and Marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Wasted 6 cups of sugar and 1 hour of my time. Turns to powder every time I whip it. Something's definitely missing. Wish I had read the reviews before I started. Won't make that mistake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSHMONGER
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Use Pure granulated cane sugar and the recipe works fine.My marshmallows turned out just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSHMONGER

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This recipe does not even deserve a one, because all three times that I tried to make it, it never turned out! I dont know if the directions are wrong or just not specific enough but definately not one that I would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
There is a product called Eme's Kosher Gel; it is a VEGAN alternative to gelatin, and I've used it a few times to make marshmallows. They actually used to market incredible vegan marshmallows, but I haven't been able to find those for awhile. The company is located in Lombard, IL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States