Homemade Marshmallows II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I was in a hurry and couldn't find my trusted marshmallow recipe. So I found this one and didn't bother reading the reviews. I wish I had! After two ruined batches, which came out like thick, gooey, fondant for dipped chocolates rather than marshmallows, I give up! How these are supposed to whip into marshmallow cream is beyond me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My step-daughter is a vegetarian, like her parents, but of course, since she's 8 years-old, marshmallows have quite a pull on her... She wants so bad to try them! So i've been looking for recipes. I've found online a recipe with agar agar, but since I didn't have any (yet! will go get some today!), I decided to give this recipe a try, even though it's so badly rated. I read all the reviews, and hoped I would be one of the two or three people who commented here, who successfully made marshmallows from this recipe. Unfortunately... no. The crumbly white mess is here to stay. I put the saucepan and everything else that touched it into hot water, so it doesn't set and I have an easier time washing it; and I'm gonna look into candy recipes so that I can use the "stuff" (for lack of better word) into something else. Now, the lack of any gelatin/agar agar/other "jellifying" agents must account for something, but since some people did get marshmallows, I must look at what i've done. I think that i may have used the electric mixer too hard, because it certainly didn't take 10-12 minutes for the soft peaks to arise. So... if you do decide to try this, use the electric mixer at the lowest speed, take your time, ... and good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
BOGUS RECIPE!!!! This recipe does NOT work, don't waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Thank you for posting this. I had a marshmallow recipe years ago but I had lost it. I've made this and it's a cooking challenge! If you have a lot of cooking under your belt, yes I'm chubby, you know that you will have grains of sugar crystals in your final product if you don't melt all the sugar grain in the liquid over med. heat before it comes to a boil. I found that out the hard way a long time ago. As soon as the sugar is melted and the liquid is not boiling yet, use a wet cloth or paper towel and wipe away the extra grains of sugar. This works with brittles and other candies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Hmm. I would be careful of any marshmallow recipes that do not contain agar agar,pectin,or gelatin to give that chewy texture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I don't know what you are all talking about. They are fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Walton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This recipe didn't work for me either. When I turned the mixer on I had to clear the kitchen to avoid someone getting hurt as the molten hot spatters turned to hard little pellets!!! What a mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townshend, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I think that this recipe is great!!! The picture even looks like a MARSHMALLOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This recipe leaves out a main ingredient: gelatin/agar agar. Don't even bother trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I completely agree that this recipe needs some sort of gelatin-like ingredient, otherwise it's just a recipe for plain ol' hard candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States