Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
They're pretty good. I used chipotle chili powder, which I think gave it a distinctive flavour. Definately a keeper to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Couldn't get the patties to stick together quite as well as hoped. However, they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Agreed -- they are hard to keep in one piece, but have great flavor and are quite easy. Next time I think I'll refrigerate the mix for a while before baking ... hopefully that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
These are delicious! I eat frozen black bean burgers regularly, and these blow them away! I'm going to start making a big batch for my husband and I to eat for lunch! I made these with "Baked Basil Fries" also on this site. What a combo! Thanks for this recipe!! (Try putting the bean mixture in the refrigerator for a few minutes before you make the patties and cook them a little longer. They won't fall apart that way.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Really good! I doubled the recipe. They do fall apart a little, but I think I did a pretty good job of getting them to stay together by adding an extra egg and refridgerating them for about 2 hours. I chopped up the pepper and onion myself, and used a garlic press, since I don't have a food processor, and I think it worked out fine. I didn't completely double the breadcrumbs. The beans, I mashed with my hands after discovering a fork wasn't too effective. I must have made larger burgers because my doubled recipe made 5 patties. I baked them for 15 minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
so tastey and so easy! i refrigerated and that helped with them syaing together; i also made them into slightly smaller patties, so i got more. next time i'm definitely adding some corn, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
LOVED these burgers. I added corn and pine nuts and refridgerated the mixture for a couple of hours-had no trouble with them falling apart! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Yummy! I cooked them a bit longer and at 385 - going for a crispier burger - that turned out well. I also followed the advice of previous posts and added egg and refridgerated for a couple hrs before cooking. I ate the 1st one with ketchup, mustard, lettuce, toms, etc - like a normal burger and that was yummy, the 2nd one I put salsa on (which I normally love on burgers) but salsa didnt add much to this burger as its natural flavor is already along those same lines. I got 5 good sized patties out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was de-lish! I substituted grated carrot for the pepper and added half a packet of dry onion soup/dip mix for the fresh onion. I did add a bit more bread crumbs and had no problem keeping the patties together. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Made these yesterday, was pleasantly surprised at how great they were! I didn't have a perpper, so I subbed half a grated carrot. Also, I used an extra egg and refrigerated the mixture for about an hour. No problems with it falling apart. Very happy with my first home-made garden burger attempt. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States