Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I'd give the appearance an A+ and the taste a C+. They didn't stick to the baking sheet and browned up nicely without falling apart when I flipped them and came out looking like nice burgers. The taste was ok, flavor is pretty good really but they lacked in the texture department. It really felt like eating mashed bean paste in a bun because that's what it was. Next time I make these i'm going to cut back on the beans, finely chop and sautee some mushrooms and add some cooked bulgar too. I think these things would add some much needed toothsomeness to the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I didn't like the taste. My fiancé loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Love this recipe. So easy and delicious. I make a vegan version by substituting the egg and breadcrumbs with oatmeal made from steel cut oats. Mix enough in and it binds the ingredients brilliantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Even my meat loving husband enjoyed these. We grilled them outside and they tasted amazing. Instead of hot sauce, I added a Serrano chili and also added some corn. I threw them in the freezer for maybe an hour before grilling also. It helped keep the mixture together ALOT better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebeccah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Loved this recipe - I added a small beet to the mixture - overall very good, can't wait to have them again - I made 6 patties instead of 4 since we don't like burgers too thick. Will for sure make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Followed recipe and they turned out GREAT.. texture was good, I added a bit more bread crumbs and I only substituted the Thai chili sauce for Soy sauce because that's all I had on hand. Will be preparing these more often! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These are awesome! I am trying to find meatless recipes and I struggle with bean dishes , but these taste amazing! I doubled the amount of breadcrumbs as someone suggested (also used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs) and used 2 eggs. Loved them and my husband did also. This will be a regular dish for us I'm sure !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this , and it was delicious! I did make a few changes though. In addition to the green pepper, I added some sweet peppers. I added garlic powder and sea salt to the egg mixture. Since I didn't have the chili sauce, I used braggs liquid Aminos instead. Lastly, I used gluten free seasoned bread crumbs. The outcome was a tasty , delicious bean burger. It wasn't dried out and had tons of flavor. Will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaunte Forester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
So delicious! I was pleasantly surprised! These will be going into our rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe, and yes I have to agree with some of you in regards of being a bit difficult o mold the burger because it doesn't hold well. I tried the 2 eggs and the oats and still, but I will keep trying because I really loved how easy it was to make and added a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CChurri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States