Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I made these twice just as instructed and they turned out great. At least as good as most of the restaurant bean burgers I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Feeding a house full of picky vegetarians isn't easy. These are absolutely fantastic! I made sure everything is dry dry dry before putting together. We like ours a bit spicier so I usually add more spices. Sometimes I'll add in a few beans still whole, corn (patted dry), fresh jalapenos (patted dry), red bell pepper (patted dry). You can mix it up with any combo of your favorites just make sure they're patted dry. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I'm a carnivore, but I've been trying so hard to eat healthier and add veggies and legumes into my diet. I'm not too fond of legumes, but this recipe sounded tasty. I made them two nights ago and we all enjoyed it! Nothing fell apart, they make awesome burrito filling (courtesy of one of my sisters), and they freeze well too. I took a couple of them to work to give as samples for my boss and one of my coworkers (a waitress who's a vegetarian), and he said this will be perfect for one of our future vegetarian meals for our residents. We also happen to have a resident who's a vegetarian, so we'll keep this recipe on hand for her. This also saves the expense of the store-bought vegan burgers. Give this recipe a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These were awesome. I made them just according to the recipe and they were delicious. I didn't have any trouble at all with them falling apart. The second batch I made with extra veggies - spinach, mushrooms and jalapenos. Both ways were delicious. I made enough to freeze and thaw for a quick snack or a nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I made these tonight, and they turned out so well that I helped myself to a second one despite that I was already full from "round one". I had a hard time mashing up the beans "manually", so I threw them into the food processor along with the onion, pepper and garlic once I had chopped them separately. The end consistency was quite smooth, and I became worried that I would be making some sort of black bean meatloaf instead because the mixture did not appear as though it would be amenable to being formed into patties. But once I added the bread crumbs (I added probably twice as much as the recipe calls for), the patties formed just fine. I grilled the burgers on our indoor grill, and served with the usual burger toppings. I am by no means vegetarian, but for health reasons am trying to eat less meat and incorporate more legumes into my diet. This recipe will definitely remain on my radar! Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
delicious delicious delicious. I'm not a vegetarian, but am trying to eat less meat, and this kind of recipe makes it easy. I took other reviews into consideration and did the following: cut the chile to 1/2 a tbsp of chile powder (infant and toddler were eating), used 1/2 a green pepper and 1/2 a red pepper. After putting that with rest of ingredients in the food processor, I put the beans in separately and gave them a mushing. I used a paper towel to soak up the excess fluid. I used 1 whole egg + 1 yolk and kept everything else the same. The burgers kept their shape perfectly. I also broiled them for 8 min/side and they were superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
My husband and I absolutely loved these. Used 2 eggs. Added this with the potato and green bean salad as a side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milbank, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This went down like a lead balloon in my house. The saving grace was Chef Johns burger buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckieboo
Home Town: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Easy, healthy, satisfying and delicious. Added more bread crumbs to make the mixture less wet and to make burgers stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
My family really enjoys these veggie burgers. I didn't have any problem with the burgers coming apart. I didn't rinse the beans. Instead I left them in a strainer for 10 minutes to get rid of the excess bean juice without losing too much of the flavor. I also used my stick mixer to grind the black beans into a paste before I mixed everything else in. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,079) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States