Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made these for my daughter over Labor Day weekend. She thought these were very good and liked them. I followed suggestions made by other cooks. I added more bread crumbs, drained, rinsed and patted dry the beans, as well as drained the veggies and squeezed them dry before adding them to the bean mixture. I thought the spices were just right but maybe the next time I will add S/P too. I grilled them on foil on a charcoal grill and they did hold together nicely. I got about five thin patties. The next time I might make them thicker. I did freeze them first before grilling and that worked out just fine. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Wonderful! Kids and husband ate it. I used black lentils, added some Braggs Liquid Aminos and used a LOT of gluten free bread crumbs to hold together. We grilled on oiled sheets of aluminum foil, about what they suggested-- 8 min each side. Just flipped the whole package to get the other side. Great with goat cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Very good! Made four patties and froze two. Helpful to keep cool while make it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made the recipe as written, and it was my first time making any kind of veggie burger. To be open-minded, you really need to disregard your experiences with out-of-the-box products that have more complex texture, such as a well-shaped patty with a slight crunch on the outside. This recipe wasn't intended for that. The flavor reminded me of my homemade black bean soup, which I make by following the recipe on the back on the Bush's can. Ingredients are similar. I used the grating disc on my food processor to handle the pepper and onion, and used a garlic press for the garlic. I tried to avoid having large chunks of any particular ingredient. This worked well. Also, I continued adding bread crumbs (panko was all I had on hand) until the mixture seemed appropriate for shaping patties. I probably ended up with twice the recommended amount. During cooking, the patties were mushy, but surprisingly they didn't fall apart when I flipped them. I cooked them longer than recommended until the patties were golden on top. They were definitely worth making again, although next time I might try skillet cooking them in a little butter to see if this adds some richness to the flavor. It needs a little something more, but I haven't figured out what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My family loved these. The only thing I will do differently is make the patties thinner. The left overs were great the second day too! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I used steak spice instead of the suggested spices. This recipe is too runny and needs an extra egg and extra bread crumbs. Over all a good base recipe for black bean burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These burgers were really good. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
these burgers were amazing :D i made them exactly how the recipe instructed and had no issues with the burger falling apart. i did bake mine so maybe the issue is with grilling them? Anyway i'm making a large batch tonight to get me through school/ work lunches, thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States