Heavenly Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Having a Kitchenaid Mixer really makes this recipe a breeze. Use the flat beater on speed 8 or 9 to beat the egg whites, then once it gets to stiff peak consistency, take it down to 1 to fold in the flour. And don't skip the sifting - it gives the cake a very light velvety texture. I got a Five star rating from everyone who tried my cake...this is the best angel food cake I have ever made. The almond extract really adds something. I'll be making this guilt-free treat again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Amazing cake! The people in my family are gourmet food snobs. When I brought this angel food cake, they devoured it, and raved all night long! A little tip...You may not need all 12 eggs. I cracked mine right into the measuring cup, and 1 and a half cups of egg whites were actually just 10 eggs. So measure as you crack. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This cake is wonderful by itself but for the frosting you can take a 12 oz. carton of thawed whipped topping, a 6 oz. carton of raspberry yogurt and 1/3 cup confectioner's sugar and mix it together. Slice the cake horizontally in to thirds and fill with the cream mixture and then frost the entire thing. Add some fresh raspberries on top and you have a fantastic dessert! Keep the extra in the refrigerator. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I used the egg whites in a carton and my KitchenAid mixer with no problem. In fact I never had a problem fluffing up cartoned egg whites with my old electric hand mixer. What has always worked for me was putting the bowl and the mixing paddles into the fridge (I never, EVER had any luck using room temperature egg whites... and believe me I tried!). When both are cooled to fridge temperature, pop in your egg whites, tilt the bowl, turn your hand mixer up to the highest setting and start whipping from the top third. For the egg whites to fluff up there needs to be a lot of air incorporated into them so keep whipping in the top third instead of plunging your mixer into the deepest part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly except substituted Splenda for sugar and made mini cupcakes to dip in chocolate fondue (reduced the baking time to 10 minutes). They were a favorite as is and as a dipper! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This was great! I used a container of egg whites from the dairy aisle, rather than separating fresh eggs. The carton didn't recommend using these for an angel food cake -- but it turned out perfectly! I cut the cake into three layers and whipped up about a cup of heavy cream, 2tbsp sugar and some chopped fresh strawberries until stiff peaks formed. I spread this thinly in between layers and ontop, the added a bit of vanilla frosting and more fresh strawberries as a topping. Amazing! Perfect for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This cake is amazing!!! 10x better than store bought! Measure out eggs to 1 1/2 cups...i only had to use about 9 lg eggs. hmm hmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I tried this recipe because it seemed so simple, and it really is! I actually just used the egg whites that come in a carton like egg beaters so I wouldn't have all the wasted yolks. I folded in some diced strawberries and used an oversized muffin pan to make large muffins. Then I topped them with reddi whip. They came out very pretty and yummy. It made a nice quick dessert for my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This recipe worked out perfect at high altitude, I'm at 7200ft and with no modifications it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne k from nm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was perfect - moist and light texture, delicious flavor, and great presentation. This was my first angel food cake, and it turned out so well, there is no need to search for a better recipe. This one is going in the recipe box. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States