Heavenly Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This cake was absolutely perfect! It took a lot of time, but my friends and family were very impressed with it. Perfect texture, density and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
As a baker, I can tell you this recipe is simple and delicious. Follow the directions exactly - be sure to add the sugar slowly. I sifted my flour into the beaten egg whites a fourth time - then folded in gently. Just a great cake recipe to add to your files. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This cake is very easy to make, and it tastes angelic! I haven't tasted many angel food cakes in my day, so I can't say if this texture is perfect....but to me, it is, so light, and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This cake was amazing. It was light as a feather, and just melted in my mouth. I followed the recipe to the letter, and it came out perfect! This was my first attempt at an angel food cake, and now that I know how easy it is, I'll never buy a store bought one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
GREASE the tube pan, unless you have one of those swanky silicone ones! I took "ungreased" literally, which I think was reasonable, but even with deciding to spray the pan lightly anyway, the sides of the cake would not pull away; it was springy to the touch, for the most part, so the cake was done enough that it should have been pulling away from the sides by that point, at least SOME, but it didn't. I had to spray more oil as close to the inside walls of the pan as I could, around the edges, hoping that some oil would slide down to the bottom of the pan. I then had to, very carefully go around the sides with a serrated knife, sawing, sawing, sawing. That was a pain! I put the cake back in the oven several times to 'double make sure' the cake really was baked as much as necessary, hoping over and over that maybe the sides weren't ready to pull away because the cake wasn't absolutely done. Of course, the cake never did unstick from the sides so, by then, I had overbaked the cake as a whole. I will probably try this cake again, sometime, using my copper bundt pan and grease it! I am getting ready to taste this cake; it does 'smell' heavenly, but I can already tell it will no longer be moist and, for me, part of what would have made this cake heavenly is if I had enjoyed the process of making it. Thanks anyway, I may try it again, just not soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is a great recipe. I've made it twice now and it turned out better the second time than the first! Yum. This is my angel food cake recipe always now! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kns215
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My first angel food cake from scratch and I couldn't have been more satisfied! (given it was literally my first atempt to separate and beat 9 whole eggs) I used less sugar for both flour and egg white mixture and it still tasted "heavenly" enough. I cut half of the cake in slices and stacked them with white chocolate vanilla "filling" (blended melted white chocolate, milk, vanilla instant pudding mix, and ricotta cheese [because I ran out of cream cheese]) and strawberries/blueberries (that was all I had in hand). Not only was it so pretty to look at, but tasted amazing!!! I even added a photo! :-) I probably won't bother finding another angel food cake when I have this wonderful recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very easy and delicious, I followed the directions exactly. I don't usually even like angel food cake, but this is a keeper. Plus, it's fun to turn it upside down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I was able to make this gluten free without any problems using a basic GF flour mix. Beat the heck out of the egg whites and it will rise beautifully and not collapse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This turned out perfectly, my mom loved it for her birthday! In response to Lynda, you need to sift the flour and 1 1/4 C confectioner's sugar together. Then you add 1 C sugar to the eggs while beating. Then fold in the confectioner's sugar/flour mixture. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States