Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This is a really good salsa. I made it this past weekend and it was delicious. Things I did differently were : I used Fresh tomatoes not canned. About 2 medium ones that I chopped and took the pulp out of. I also added 2 tablespoons of TACO seasoning mix. This gave it a nice flavor. You can also substitute with cumin if you'd like. I omitted the oil and the avocado. I added about 1/4 cup of chopped jalapeno in. I let it sit over night so the flavors could marinate really well. With the leftovers I made black bean quesadillas the next day adding cheddar cheese to the tortillas. Will make again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Very VERY tasty! However, I cut the recipe back by half. ommited the olive oil, added the full quarter cup of lime juice, and used all the cilantro. I also found that using fresh corn right off the corn is WONDERFUL and very cost effective during the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I love black bean and corn salsa! For this recipe, I used fresh tomato instead of canned, left out the onion (I don't care for them raw) and the avocado (did'nt have one), and I added some cumin. I served it over enchiladas, but could have eaten it with a spoon (and still might, there is some left over). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Incredible! The only thing I would probably change is to use real diced tomatoes and another avocado. The canned tomatoes were just weird. I found myself trying to avoid them. Other than that, it is a really filling dip and great for parties! It's easy, cheap, awesome, and different from the usual party dips (cheese dip, guacamole, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassagrass
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I really like this recipe. I've been making something similar for years. Instead of the canned tomatoes, I use fresh. Then I also add in a can of garbanzos, a teaspoon of cumin, and salt and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was really yummy. Instead of the oil I added a little lime juice. I also used regular diced tomatoes because the Italian style was too much like a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaCh L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Couldn't get canned white and yellow corn seperately, so I bought two cans of niblets and threw 'em in, also had to omit the pepper due to an allergy. This was pretty good though, a refreshing summer salsa that goes great with tortilla chips, we've even put it in tacos! Increase the amount of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I made it for a recent barbecue and everyone raved. It's light, fresh, and absolutely delicious. I like things a bit spicy so I added a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe is similar to my original corn & black bean salsa, except I used fresh tomatoes. HOWEVER, I finally wisened up and found a short cut - fresh pico de gallo from the grocery store produce section, canned corn & black beans drained. The only things you have to cut are the avocado and slice the lime in half. Cuts prep time tremendiously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is SOOO good. I've used as an appetizer (makes a lot) or as a side dish. Everyone raves and it's just as good two days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma's cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States